Physicians Group Unveils its Price List...

I presume that my HSA deductible is paid at my insurer's negotiated rates (Aetna). But, if I understand the article, the physician group's price list will only give me a general idea of what it costs, and not the actual cost, unless they post a separate negotiated price list for each insurer, right?

Still, good news all in all.

I am taking the time to find the several closest urgent health care centers along with directions there, etc., at my new location. Something that I have never done before. I will also be negotiating prices with a local dentist at my new location. And I will probably use Walmart to get my annual eye examination (~$56 base cost) required for contacts wearers. I got glasses from them and they did a great job.

Kramer

I presume that my HSA deductible is paid at my insurer's negotiated rates (Aetna). But, if I understand the article, the physician group's price list will only give me a general idea of what it costs, and not the actual cost, unless they post a separate negotiated price list for each insurer, right?

Still, good news all in all.

I am taking the time to find the several closest urgent health care centers along with directions there, etc., at my new location. Something that I have never done before. I will also be negotiating prices with a local dentist at my new location. And I will probably use Walmart to get my annual eye examination (~$56 base cost) required for contacts wearers. I got glasses from them and they did a great job.

Kramer

Kramer - According to the article, it says:

"argolis said the list prices are, in most cases, more than what government programs pay the group and less than or equal to the rates commercial insurers have negotiated. They represent the practice's cost plus a small margin that varies by procedure, he said."