Join Early Retirement Today

Preventing Back Strain -- What I've Learned
Old 07-04-2011, 11:41 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Preventing Back Strain -- What I've Learned

After straining my back every few years, I got obsessive about researching it, and I thought I'd pass on what I've learned. I'm not a doctor, so don't follow what I say in any way.

Note that one meta study found:
There was no strong evidence regarding the efficacy of any interventions aiming to prevent back pain and injury in nurses.
When you pull a muscle in your back

The advice on this is consistent. This is what I'll do next time (hopefully there won't be a next time): Put ice on it immediately, even if it doesn't seem like a big strain. Continue icing on and off for 2 days, and drink a lot of water. Rest for 2 days. Cancel anything that would involve sitting (piano lesson, for example) for a month. Start doing a lot of walking after 2 days of rest, and avoid sitting in a chair or traveling in a car.

Stretching

Once you've recovered start stretching regularly. A problem here is that most research shows that stretching prior to exercise does not help prevent injuries. I'm hoping that regular stretching, however, can be effective.

After a month of twice-per-day stretching I've improved my flexibility significantly, and it would seem that that would decrease the stress on back muscles. Anyway, here are two books I recommend:

This is good for helping you do the stretches just right:

Amazon.com: Stretching Smarter Stretching Healthier eBook: Dr. Jolie Bookspan MEd PhD FAWM: Kindle Store

For example:

stretch.jpg

This one has a list of stretches:

Amazon.com: Stretching for 50+: A Customized Program for Increasing Flexibility, Avoiding Injury, and Enjoying an Active Lifestyle eBook: Karl Knopf: Kindle Store

Youtube is also a good source of stretching info (both good and bad).