Join Early Retirement Today

Stress 'is top cause of workplace sickness'
Old 10-05-2011, 07:29 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus

Stress 'is top cause of workplace sickness'

Quote:
Stress has become the most common reason for a worker being signed off long-term sick, a report reveals today. Experts said the psychological condition had become so widespread that it was the '21st century equivalent of the Black Death'. Stress has even eclipsed stroke, heart attack, cancer and back problems, according to the report from the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development.
Stress: 'Top cause of workplace sickness' is dubbed 'Black Death of 21st century' | Mail Online

I really think this article does not exaggerate the problem. After ER I was shocked to find out how much more stressed I had been while working than I had thought. I have been peeling off layers of stress for almost two years now and while I am mostly done with that, still I would not have thought I was that stressed. Stress was affecting my health and happiness and I really do feel that I made it to ER just in time.

For those who are close to ER and unsure of when to pull the trigger, this might be a serious consideration.

Happily retired since 2009, at age 61. Best years of my life by far!
W2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!