401K (short term) vs checking account (bank)

mtukhi123

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello All,
I graduated from college about 4 years ago. I changed my first job after two years and now I am on my second. When I left my first job, I took out all my 401K funds, paid the penalty for withdrawing and paid taxes. I realized I got more compare to If I simply did not contribute and took the fund from my pay check and paid the taxes right away.

Now, my question is, is it better for me to contribute more (like 20%) to my 401K and later withdraw it after two years or just keep saving in the bank for two years. I will need cash in about two years because I am planning to buy(finance) my first home with FHA loan and will need down payment.

In first case, I will be paying taxes right away and saving it in my bank account. In second, I will be contributing that amount to 401K and withdrawing it after 2 years with penalty and tax. FYI, 88% of my 401K is in stocks. Also, can you tell me if we get dividends from stocks in 401K?

I believe you are approaching your 401k incorrectly--it is for long term investing for Retirement. Short term monies needed probably should not be invested into stocks. You can contribute to both, pre-tax to a 401k and post tax saving for goals--such as house or car. Others more versed in this will be able to give you more information.

What pacergal said. Also, taking the funds from the 404k may push you into a higher tax bracket so you end up paying more in taxes than if you'd just put the after-tax money in a savings account or money market fund. And for a short term goal like a house down payment you're risking investment losses, which don't matter for a long-term goal like retirement but may matter a lot for a short-term goal.

Last edited:
Hello All,