Join Early Retirement Today

Advice for a new stockpicker
Old 10-24-2010, 02:16 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Advice for a new stockpicker

I am relatively new to the world of buying/selling individual securities. Recently I have spent some time reading some investing books (Ben Graham's Intelligent Investor, Ken Fisher's Common Stocks and Uncommon Profits, and Peter Lynch's One Up on Wall Street). These books have inspired me to try investing in individual securities.

Let me preface everything else by saying that I am by no means placing all my savings or retirement savings in my ability to pick individual securities. My 401k, IRA, and some of my savings are already in index funds or mutual funds. The money I would be using to pick stocks would be savings above and beyond that. I realize it would be foolish to pick stocks with all of my savings. However, I do think I can have success doing so.

So ultimately I am looking for advice from anyone who buys and sells individual securities. I am by no means looking to day trade, and ultimately am looking for securities to by and hold for long periods of time. What resources would you recommend? Any approaches that have worked for you? I am curious to hear what experiences others have had with individual securities.
Klubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!