Never done Tax Loss Harvesting, need help for Dec 24th

dvalley

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
So I've never done this before :blush: but here's the situation:

1. I exchanged VIMAX for VTSAX in my brokerage account, thinking an exchange wouldn't incur capital gains. Looks like I was wrong, vanguard is showing $10k gain. Ugh. 15% LTCG on it is about $1500.

2. My recent purchases of VTI (same account) show $1800 loss.

My thinking is, sell all of VTI (Total Stock Market ETF) on Dec 24th locking in the $1800 loss.
Buy VTSAX (Total Stock Market MF) in the same account and hopefully quick enough that the market won't jump up too high.

Questions:

1. Is VTSAX similar enough to VTI that this is a no-no? If so, may be I'll buy VOO (S&P 500) instead.

2. How do I limit my risk of stock market jump between the sale and the buy? I have dry powder to cover the purchase if that would help.

Dec 24th is my only chance to try this if it's worth it.

Thanks in advance :greetings10::popcorn:

What Fidelity told me so I assume Vanguard is the same is that they will not track your tax loss harvesting activities so it is up to you as an individual in an IRS audit to justify your repurchase as substantially not equal. So if you feel they are not the same and can convince an auditor of the same, do it. If not, then look elsewhere.

I would say that VTI and VTSAX are identical... just different share classes of the same underlying portfolio. VOO woud be different.

There is the 30 day wash sale rule that seems you might be in too close for comfort just switching between ETF and MF that are essentially identical. You can probably find a similar fund that won't trigger the 30 day rule, such as the VOO you suggested.

You can't control what will happen between your sale and buy points. All you can do is minimize that time to the extent you can. If market is going up, sitting in cash may cost you a little; if it goes down, sitting in cash benefits you.