Standard deviation time frame

dallas27

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I'm studying college level finance right now, with the hopes of better understanding my retirement savings and the market. Getting a refresher course in st.dev., etc.

For broad index etf's like VIG, VEU, VWO, what is an intelligent amount of time over which historical stdev should reasonably predict the future? 5, 10,20,50 years? 100?

I think this is a question that is art not science, but, i'd like to hear opinions to learn from.

Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum

I'm studying college level finance right now, with the hopes of better understanding my retirement savings and the market. Getting a refresher course in st.dev., etc.

For broad index etf's like VIG, VEU, VWO, what is an intelligent amount of time over which historical stdev should reasonably predict the future? 5, 10,20,50 years? 100?

I think this is a question that is art not science, but, i'd like to hear opinions to learn from.

Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum

Use as much data as you can to derive the standard deviation and use current rates of return.

If something major changes the index or economic conditions then a historical standard deviation might be valid for only a day into the future.

I wouldn't mind assuming they would be valid for 10 years or so for a broad index. Long enough to make a long term choice, but I'd want to check on it again in the future. But I have no evidence for that, and any evidence would be historical, and you know what that means.

If something major changes the index or economic conditions then a historical standard deviation might be valid for only a day into the future.

I wouldn't mind assuming they would be valid for 10 years or so for a broad index. Long enough to make a long term choice, but I'd want to check on it again in the future. But I have no evidence for that, and any evidence would be historical, and you know what that means.