Join Early Retirement Today
Substantially Identical
Old 12-12-2015, 10:06 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Substantially Identical

If the market goes down in the next 2 weeks I may want to sell my VOO for tax loss harvesting and then immediately buy VTI. I believe VOO tracks the S&P 500 while VTI represents the entire domestic stock market so they shouldn't be substantially identical, right? I'm new to taxable investing so any advice would be welcome. Thanks

aaronc879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-12-2015, 10:09 PM   #2
Recycles dryer sheets
my uneducated guess is that it won't be a wash sale

Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
(Albert Einstein)
wanaberetiree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2015, 10:09 PM   #3
Full time employment: Posting here.
The IRS does not provide great examples, but those should be different enough from what I've heard
“Remember where you came from, where you're going, and why you created this mess you got yourself into in the first place.”