Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Vanguard Portfolio Analysis tool
Old 06-17-2017, 11:51 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Fedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 2,930
Vanguard Portfolio Analysis tool

So yesterday this tool shows I was in 75% in stocks and zero in cash which is not the case. What could possibly cause this tool to be out of whack. I didn't know it has a problem because I rely on this to tell me my AA. What are your thoughts on this?
__________________

__________________
Fedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-17-2017, 11:57 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 41,176
You should be able to drill down to see exactly how the Vanguard classifies each of your assets as well as the percentage of each individual holding. Do you have everything in your AA loaded into the tool?
__________________

__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 12:05 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Fedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 2,930
I didn't know I have to load the AA tool. I thought it's smart enough to tell except for cash covered puts.
__________________
Fedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 12:10 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 41,176
It should recognize and categorize everything you have at Vanguard. You have to load in anything held by another financial institution.
__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 12:16 PM   #5
Full time employment: Posting here.
Coolius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 649
I also find Vanguard quote system has quirks.

I hold shares of a very thinly traded stock - it trades maybe 6 times a year - yes, no kidding - and a few months ago Vanguard took my stock value down to $0 from $20K.

Called Vanguard, they explained that if a stock has not traded for a long time, it is assigned a zero value until such time as a trade occurs again.

Might this be something that you have experienced? If you hold only active issues in the account, then it would not apply.

Thought I'd throw it out, just in case.
__________________
Coolius is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 12:25 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Fedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 2,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
It should recognize and categorize everything you have at Vanguard. You have to load in anything held by another financial institution.
I'm just asking about what I have at Vanguard only. Even what I have doesn't reflect correctly on the analysis tool.
__________________
Fedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 12:43 PM   #7
gone traveling
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,059
Ugh, please dont tell me we have been hacked.
__________________
Blue Collar Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 12:53 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 41,176
Just checked my Vanguard account. When I click on the "Asset Mix" tab it shows an accurate pie chart of my holdings/AA.
__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 01:01 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fedup View Post
I'm just asking about what I have at Vanguard only. Even what I have doesn't reflect correctly on the analysis tool.
Vanguard now has a pretty good explanation of how the tool works and how the tool doesn't work. Did you click on that and read it?
__________________
LOL! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 01:12 PM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,756
I am surprised that it would misidentify cash....


However, I have bought a good number of preferred and think of them as bonds but Vanguard thinks of them as stocks... so, I just do a ball park... accuracy on the AA is not high on my list of things to worry about...
__________________
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 02:05 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermont & Sarasota, FL
Posts: 15,197
Vanguard's tool works well for my portfolio... you can drill down to see how it is classifying certain things.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
pb4uski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 02:07 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Fedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 2,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by LOL! View Post
Vanguard now has a pretty good explanation of how the tool works and how the tool doesn't work. Did you click on that and read it?
I need to reread it again but when I first read it was not obvious.
__________________
Fedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 02:09 PM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Fedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 2,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Proud View Post
I am surprised that it would misidentify cash....


However, I have bought a good number of preferred and think of them as bonds but Vanguard thinks of them as stocks... so, I just do a ball park... accuracy on the AA is not high on my list of things to worry about...
This could be a problem. I have VCSH and I trade in and out to take advantage of the price swing. Maybe this is where I need to dig deeper. But the zero percentage of cash is a mistery.
__________________
Fedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 03:22 PM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Fedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 2,930
So I spent a bit of time looking at the accounts not. I think the Portfolio analysis doesn't reflect current account but also the ETF settlement date as well, kind of like a delay effect. Maybe I did have zero cash or close to zero cash for a day. But I sold some VCSH immediately the following day when the bond market popped briefly. I often put in a low bid of the day to see if I can buy lower and put in a higher bid of the day to see if I can sell higher. So the effect with zero cash sometime.
__________________
Fedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 04:36 PM   #15
Recycles dryer sheets
Rosie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 347
It works fine for me. I have ETFs and mutual funds at Vanguard, and cash and CDs outside of Vanguard.

I made sure to categorize all my non-Vanguard holdings properly. It's not difficult at all.
__________________
Doing nothing is underrated.
Rosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 07:26 AM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
FIRE'd@51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,280
I have noticed that VG classifies certain Exchange Traded Notes as equities rather than bonds, e.g., ISM.
__________________

__________________
I'd rather be governed by the first one hundred names in the telephone book than the Harvard faculty - William F. Buckley
FIRE'd@51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What portfolio management tool do you use? CountryGal FIRE and Money 96 04-27-2017 02:20 PM
Best tool that charts a portfolio’s combined performance krldrummerboy FIRE and Money 18 05-30-2016 12:51 PM
AssetAllocation & Portfolio Tracking Tool Manji FIRE and Money 3 04-21-2009 04:19 PM
Vanguard Retirement Analysis vs. 4% withdrawal analysis familyretired FIRE and Money 3 08-26-2005 02:33 AM
New Vanguard SWR tool 'Lifetime Spending Analyzer' intercst FIRE and Money 7 12-23-2004 06:17 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:06 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.