Join Early Retirement Today

what to invest with 10k
Old 07-29-2016, 08:55 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

what to invest with 10k

Have always been an index fund investor for the past 10, 12 years, now I have about $10k of "fun money" that I'm willing to risk. I'm very new to stock research, any individual stock, eft suggestions? screening tools? list of strategies? Sorry for the broad question, just trying to get started. thanks.
ER_Hopeful is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-29-2016, 08:58 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

How about BRK.B?

Retired Jan 2012 at age 56
pb4uski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2016, 09:26 AM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

What are you hoping to accomplish with this money? Hit a home run? Or just a steady diet of singles and doubles?
Is there any chance you will need to liquidate the investment in a hurry?

Is this in an after-tax account, or tax sheltered vehicle?