Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2016, 10:26 AM   #21
Full time employment: Posting here.
misanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by audreyh1 View Post
I thought WiFi calling was supported on 5c and later iPhones with AT&T Sprint and T-Mobile. https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203032
We have Verizon so that is probably the issue. I couldn't find WiFi calling under Settings and found a "phones supported" list online that didn't include the 5c so I jumped to the conclusion that the 5c was too old or otherwise not capable.

Sent from my XT1575 using Early Retirement Forum mobile app
__________________

__________________
"The best thing about the future is that it happens one day at a time." -- A. Lincoln
misanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-23-2016, 10:32 AM   #22
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
mpeirce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus area
Posts: 1,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpeirce View Post
Domestically, the advantage is being able to connect to the phone system if your cellular coverage it poor inside where there is good WiFi. Many houses are like this. There is also a case where your cell company might have coverage in an area, but there is WiFi available (typically indoors).
Also domestically, you can use other devices (iPad and iPod Touches) to make calls using a WiFi connection to the general telephone network. I.e. your iPad becomes a fully functional phone.
__________________

__________________
mpeirce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 11:17 AM   #23
Moderator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 21,135
I updated the O/S last night and enabled wifi for the phone. For me it is going to be most useful for travel in foreign countries. I usually use Skype from my phone or laptop when making US calls from abroad, but only US toll free numbers are free when doing this. Making US calls with the phone over wifi from abroad means all US calls and texts will be free.

As someone earlier pointed out if you need data while abroad (e.g. using Google Maps while driving in a city) then you'll need an international data plan. AT&T has one for $30 for a month which worked great for us last year when driving in Canada.
__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 11:33 AM   #24
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: World Citizen
Posts: 115
Question,as this is new to me. After finding a wifi hotspot, just make your call back to us? Does my 6 know not to use cellular? I have turned on wifi calling under settings. Thank you
__________________
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 12:03 PM   #25
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Miami
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
Question,as this is new to me. After finding a wifi hotspot, just make your call back to us? Does my 6 know not to use cellular? I have turned on wifi calling under settings. Thank you

I assume you have to turn your cellar services off but I am not sure
__________________
FIRE July 2015 - The US government spends nearly the ENTIRETY of its tax revenue on Social Security, Medicare, and Interest on the Debt
Blueskies123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 12:04 PM   #26
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Miami
Posts: 156
This is from the att web site:
To enable Wi-Fi calling on iPhone, visit Settings > Phone > Wi-Fi Calling and toggle the "Wi-Fi Calling on This iPhone" switch to the on position. Users activating the service for the first time might have to navigate through an initial setup process. Currently, the feature is limited to iPhone 6, iPhone Plus, iPhone 6s and iPhone 6s Plus models.

Once Wi-Fi calling is enabled on a user's iPhone, and when connected to a Wi-Fi network, the system automatically reroutes incoming and outgoing calls over the Internet. Subscribers can use their regular phone number with the service, so there is no need to remember a special access number or download a special app.

AT&T first introduced Wi-Fi calling on iPhone last year, first rolling out access to a select group of beta testers before opening access to all eligible customers in October.
__________________
FIRE July 2015 - The US government spends nearly the ENTIRETY of its tax revenue on Social Security, Medicare, and Interest on the Debt
Blueskies123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 12:15 PM   #27
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by misanman View Post
DW has IOS 9.3 on her 5c but I understand that WiFi calling is not supported on older phones such as hers.
Will be glad when/if this capability is available for older phones. In the meantime, my wife and I have been communicating free of charge (text / phone calls) via WhatsApp, a free tool you can download from online that uses internet to send text/voice.

Edit: WhatsApp also is now available to use on your computer as well, including Macs. I've used that from my end a couple times without problem.
__________________
Whisper66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 12:51 PM   #28
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 16,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whisper66 View Post
Will be glad when/if this capability is available for older phones. In the meantime, my wife and I have been communicating free of charge (text / phone calls) via WhatsApp, a free tool you can download from online that uses internet to send text/voice.

Edit: WhatsApp also is now available to use on your computer as well, including Macs. I've used that from my end a couple times without problem.
I think this is a hardware feature, so don't expect it to appear for older phones.
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 12:51 PM   #29
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
mpeirce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus area
Posts: 1,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
Question,as this is new to me. After finding a wifi hotspot, just make your call back to us? Does my 6 know not to use cellular? I have turned on wifi calling under settings. Thank you
No need to turn off cellular service, the phone looks at the cellular signal (domestically) or the fact that you not talking to an ATT cellular tower (internationally) and enables the WiFi calling if it's called for.

I just snapped these two image on my phone:

The first one shows a two bar cellular signal and "AT&T Wi-Fi" to show it's decided to use WiFI calling.

The second shows I turned on Airplane mode to turn off the cellular radio. Then I turned on WiFi. This still allows WiFi calling.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WiFi1.jpg (23.4 KB, 76 views)
File Type: jpg WiFi2.jpg (13.3 KB, 75 views)
__________________
mpeirce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 02:42 PM   #30
Moderator
MBAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,162
Thanks, mpeirce, that answered my question. This will be great for my trips to Europe this year and Peru next year.
__________________
"One of the funny things about the stock market is that every time one person buys, another sells, and both think they are astute." William Feather
----------------------------------
ER'd Oct. 2010 at 53. Life is good.
MBAustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 02:53 PM   #31
Moderator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rocky Inlets
Posts: 24,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpeirce View Post
No need to turn off cellular service, the phone looks at the cellular signal (domestically) or the fact that you not talking to an ATT cellular tower (internationally) and enables the WiFi calling if it's called for.
I've noticed with my Verizon phone that when on a wifi connection it automatically shifts to cellular when the signal has any problems. This happens frequently at hotels with poor quality wifi. Not challenging your post, just wondering if the same thing might happen when abroad.
__________________
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 03:00 PM   #32
Moderator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 21,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelB View Post
I've noticed with my Verizon phone that when on a wifi connection it automatically shifts to cellular when the signal has any problems. This happens frequently at hotels with poor quality wifi. Not challenging your post, just wondering if the same thing might happen when abroad.
I agree. We learned to turn off cellular data even in the USA because of this issue. Last year we had stayed in a Best Western in Monterrey and then while driving up the coast next day we got a text warning us that we had used 75% of our available data for the month. Turns out that while streaming to the TV if the wifi drops out the phone switches seamlessly to data to continue streaming.
__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 03:15 PM   #33
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
mpeirce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus area
Posts: 1,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan View Post
I agree. We learned to turn off cellular data even in the USA because of this issue. Last year we had stayed in a Best Western in Monterrey and then while driving up the coast next day we got a text warning us that we had used 75% of our available data for the month. Turns out that while streaming to the TV if the wifi drops out the phone switches seamlessly to data to continue streaming.
That's another feature, Wi-Fi Assist

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT205296

This option lets the phone use the more reliable data source. In some cases the phone will switch from using WiFi to using cellular data.

You can control this in Settings > Cellular > Wi-Fi Assist

I'm not certain how these (WiFi Assist and WiFi calling) interact. I expect there is some heuristic that picks the more reliable connection to make a call. It might even be dynamic and adjust as conditions change.
__________________
mpeirce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 03:40 PM   #34
Moderator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 21,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpeirce View Post
That's another feature, Wi-Fi Assist

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT205296

This option lets the phone use the more reliable data source. In some cases the phone will switch from using WiFi to using cellular data.

You can control this in Settings > Cellular > Wi-Fi Assist

I'm not certain how these (WiFi Assist and WiFi calling) interact. I expect there is some heuristic that picks the more reliable connection to make a call. It might even be dynamic and adjust as conditions change.
I remember when this feature appeared in iOS 9 and immediately turned it off (default was ON when I did the upgrade).

The experience we had was prior to iOS 9 (which came out last Fall I believe). Adding the ability to turn it off without disabling cellular data is nice to have as a feature.
__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 03:55 PM   #35
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11,615
It will be interesting to see how this might affect the business model of Republic Wireless. Their "niche" is that calls go over Wifi when available rather than using a cellular network.
PROS: It works great, no need for special actions, and is cheap (I pay about $15/mo for all my calls and the data I need). And I don't use "cellular minutes" for calls placed over wifi.
CONS: Gotta buy their specially modified smartphones (Motorola models, which are pretty nice and well priced).
__________________
"Freedom begins when you tell Mrs. Grundy to go fly a kite." - R. Heinlein
samclem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 04:23 PM   #36
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 265
Okay, this is so cool!

. I don't have an iPhone but I do have an iPad. I just installed Google hangouts and set up a Google number. I made a phone call using my iPad! Now my question is where I will use this. I have a basic tracfone that does not roam. I can see being in a situation where I don't have cell phone service but do have wi fi.

I will be overseas later this spring. Wonder if this will give me the opportunity to call the USA using my iPad on Wi fi.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
__________________
FIYes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 10:31 AM   #37
Dryer sheet wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 24
Peeps, down load Viper app to call Viper app users for free anywhere in the world. All you need is a Wifi connection and a phone to make calls, end text, pictures or videos.
__________________

__________________
vipertom1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android WiFi Experts? Wifi Auto Switches to Xfinity marko Other topics 5 02-11-2015 09:49 AM
Router/Modem question for ATT dsl Dawg52 Other topics 20 02-01-2013 11:42 AM
ATT Homezone Khan Other topics 2 04-15-2007 10:11 PM
Skype is offering FREE outbound calling JB Other topics 2 05-18-2006 10:29 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:09 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.