Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Transformer for laptop
Old 09-03-2014, 09:55 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,988
Transformer for laptop

I'm headed off to Europe (Germany & France) soon.

I'm wondering what sort of transformer I need for recharging my laptop, camera, etc.?

omni
__________________

__________________
omni550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-03-2014, 10:20 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,570
A good one! Don't get fooled into thinking the converter for your electric razor will work. I watched a guy fry an expensive portable printer with a cheap razor converter.

In the past some laptops had a converter built in. Don't know if that's still true.
__________________

__________________
MRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 10:34 AM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,988
Thanks, MRG.

Your post triggered me to take a closer look at the charging 'brick' on my new laptop. It says "input 100-240V". I'm assuming that means it will work in Europe and I'll just need to use a "U.S. to round plug" adapter.

omni
__________________
omni550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 10:47 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by omni550 View Post
Thanks, MRG.

Your post triggered me to take a closer look at the charging 'brick' on my new laptop. It says "input 100-240V". I'm assuming that means it will work in Europe and I'll just need to use a "U.S. to round plug" adapter.

omni
Yes, almost all of these power supplies are now designed to work on a variety of common line voltage/frequencies. It will be on the label, as you found.

If they say 100-240V, and 50/60 Hz then the plug adapter is all you need.

FWIW, although this convention isn't always followed, 'adapter' typically means a passive plug - just metal and plastic that conforms one mechanical plug/socket form to another. And 'converter' will typically mean it actually does some electrical conversion of 110V 60 Hz to 240V 50 Hz or whatever.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 10:51 AM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 8,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by omni550 View Post
Your post triggered me to take a closer look at the charging 'brick' on my new laptop. It says "input 100-240V". I'm assuming that means it will work in Europe and I'll just need to use a "U.S. to round plug" adapter.
That's very likely true. Most laptops, phones, cameras, etc. today have wall warts that easily handle both US and European electricity. If it says both (as yours does), then all you need is the plug adapter.

Don't forget to check before you go that your plug adapter works with your plugs. Sometimes you have to consider two vs. three prong plugs.
__________________
braumeister is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 10:59 AM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,988
braumeister,

Thanks for the "heads up" on 3- & 2-prongs.

I just checked and my electrics & electronics are 2-prongs, so that is one less thing to deal with.

omni
__________________
omni550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 01:29 PM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 422
I travel to Asia and use a universal power adapter I bought from eBay for about 4-7 bucks. They do not convert the voltage, only provide a way to plug your 110/220 device into their power. My cell phone and laptop both work fine using them. I have used it in Hong Kong which is supposed to be the same as the UK. Haven't had the opportunity to use it in the EU.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg universal power.JPG (40.7 KB, 7 views)
__________________
CRLLS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 02:41 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 16,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by omni550 View Post
Thanks, MRG.

Your post triggered me to take a closer look at the charging 'brick' on my new laptop. It says "input 100-240V". I'm assuming that means it will work in Europe and I'll just need to use a "U.S. to round plug" adapter.

omni
Yep, you just need the plug adapter!


Easy to order from Amazon. We have some by Watson.
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 02:58 PM   #9
Recycles dryer sheets
In-control's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by audreyh1 View Post
Yep, you just need the plug adapter!


Easy to order from Amazon. We have some by Watson.
That's what I have used for years though out Europe w/o problem
__________________
Just Trekking thru!
In-control is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 03:18 PM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,988
I'm glad I posted this query, as I have now figured out that I won't need to lug a heavy transformer with me.

Thanks, everyone!

omni
__________________
omni550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 04:21 PM   #11
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,417
Yes just an adapter. I've gone so far as to go to the hardware store and replugging gear that I am leaving there and have a couple of replugged lines that plug into my bricks (although more for camera gear as they come in this configuration. Almost all electronics are universal now, just check it before plugging. Years ago I managed to blow a power supply on a desktop, it was dual voltage but a switch need to be flipped.
__________________

__________________
6miths is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just bought the Asus Eee Pad Transformer modhatter Other topics 6 06-14-2011 11:24 AM
Using an Old Laptop bongo2 Other topics 5 12-05-2005 12:43 PM
Super cheap laptop cute fuzzy bunny Other topics 157 10-07-2005 06:38 PM
No recovery CD's with my new laptop - Anyone know why? Cut-Throat Other topics 13 10-06-2005 07:16 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:47 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.