Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Vancouver, BC. ER option as US Citizen?
Old 12-02-2011, 08:28 PM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Vancouver, BC. ER option as US Citizen?

Howdy folks,

With healthcare being one of the largest cost for early retirees, I have been trying to come up with a plan B in case congress actually repeals obama's healthcare reform. I imagine, because I have a disability, that private individual healthcare will likely be too expensive for me to retire in the United States.

One place I keep thinking about is Vancouver, BC.

I'm a software developer, and my skills make it fairly easy to immigrate to Canada. If I did decide to, I would do so about a decade or so before retirement, and likely become a permanent resident.

My reasons
1. Universal Healthcare/Insurance
As I understand it, there's a 90 day waiting period, and you get the same level of care as everyone else (which contrary to scareMongers, is pretty good)

2. Very mild climate (for Canada)
I'm from the south. I visited Seattle this past summer, and was blown away by how nice and cool their summer was. As I understand it, the PNW also very rarely falls below freezing. I know what you're going to say. "What about the rain!" Contrary to popular opinion, mobile Al actually has the most precipitation per year in the us. We *like* the rain.

3. Jobs (specifically software)

It might not be as booming for software developers as say, seattle, but I can assure you it has more than most places in the south. I plan to be close to FI before moving there, but as I said, my skills are my ticket in

The one thing that concerns me is the cost of living in the PNW is very high. It would likely cost me %50 more to live there than down south. That's why I plan to work most of my career here, and move there if nessasary.

What do you all think? Has anyone here done it?
mortal is offline   Reply With Quote