Let's Tax The Rich!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
glippy: If you pay into ss for lots of years and then apply for it, no matter how much you make, how can you call it an entitlement? If you buy mutual funds for years and then when you retire you decide to cash them in, would that to be an entitlement?

I'm not a an expert on the government budget, but before we gouged anyone, I would not be opposed to letting Bush tax cuts expire and revert the federal budget back to 2008, before the stimulus program. 2008 budget was 20% less than this year. While this may not balance it, I would think it would stop the profuse bleeding of red ink. It hard to imagine but it was only a little over a decade ago that the federal deficit was being projected to being eventually paid off based on then government surpluses.

In answer to the original question - No. It neither solves the issue of increasing sufficient revenue to solve government debt problems nor does it provide a beneficial incentive.

The problem with the premise of the question (not Midpack’s question, but the issue in general) is that in the context of an income tax ‘rich’ means high income. I can have a portfolio of $100 million in CA muni bonds with no other income and pay virtually nothing in tax so I wouldn’t be ‘rich’ according to the income tax system. My point is that if you have a high income you will be considered rich for income tax purposes. This definition includes the individual that grew up dirt poor but went on to make a large income through hard work and adversity by putting themselves through an undergraduate university and graduate school only to emerge with $250,000 in student loans. However, it doesn’t include the holder of the $100 million muni bond portfolio.