Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Cell phone as Hot Spot
Old 08-16-2019, 03:58 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Madison
Posts: 1
Cell phone as Hot Spot

Does anyone use their cell phone as a hotspot for their ipad or laptop computer. Not all cell phone companies allow it. Im trying to find one that does allow it since i would like a bigger data package, but only to use as a hotspot as well as for the cell phone.
__________________

Riley9221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-16-2019, 04:04 PM   #2
Administrator
Janet H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 5,544
Yup - do it a lot. My carrier is ATT and I have an unlocked phone. I think that your carrier dictates what is allowed under a given plan and you may need to get one of the larger data plans. Shop around.
__________________

__________________
E-R.org Custom Google Search | You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. (Robin Williams)
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 04:05 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25,111
I do, when up in my boondocks home or when traveling.

It could be slow like heck though, and unusable anyway.
__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 04:10 PM   #4
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 980
All the time. Have MetroPCS (now called "Metro from T-Mobile") - it's included for free with the plan.
njhowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 04:12 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 45,422
Here is a list (a long one) of what is claimed to be all plans allowing tethering (hot spots) - provided you also have a qualifying phone. Hot Spot List
__________________
Numbers is hard

Charter resident of the lumpen slums of cyberspace

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 04:32 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25,111
A problem I found with surfing the Web on a laptop or tablet through the phone is that many Web sites load up the screen with advertisement and videos. These junks clog down the link, and cost me mucho in bandwidth and rack up many GBs of data for nothing.

You also must be sure Windoz will not download updates while tethering through the phone. Severe pain and suffering would ensue otherwise.
__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 04:34 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
HNL Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1,474
Yes, I use my iPhone with T-Mobile as a hot spot for both my wife's phone, and for the iPad when flying the drone, to keep the Maps up to date! Works great, but not fast enough to connect a laptop.
__________________
Balance in everything.
HNL Bill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 04:56 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,137
Yep, I use this with t-mobile all the time.
__________________
Eat, Drink and Be Merry.
tulak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 05:01 PM   #9
Full time employment: Posting here.
Lakedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 711
Yes, use Cricket cell as hotspot and primary internet connection for my MacBook Air. I started the Cricket plan when full-time RVing and have just continued using as my everyday internet connection since that time. No issues at all in the last two years and only use wifi when visiting friends or staying in a hotel.
Lakedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 05:05 PM   #10
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 126
I've set my Xfinity ( Verizon MVNO ) & sons Sprint phone as hotspot to give WiFi to a tablet or two. Works well. Especially when no other option.
__________________
3 ish years to FIRE, mentally ready now!
KenZ71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 05:18 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 22,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riley9221 View Post
Does anyone use their cell phone as a hotspot for their ipad or laptop computer. Not all cell phone companies allow it. Im trying to find one that does allow it since i would like a bigger data package, but only to use as a hotspot as well as for the cell phone.
My T-Mobile One Plus plan allows a nice fast hotspot.

Use it with my iPad when out and about, and with my laptop when needed when traveling.
__________________
Retired since summer 1999.
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 05:23 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
OldShooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: City
Posts: 3,321
We are on Google FI and have the hotspot option. Mostly we use it when our home DSL connection goes down, which seems to happen every couple of months for brief periods.

Googe Fi gives us free data-only SIM cards for our tablets, so it is really only the desktops that need to access the hotspot. Our Nexus 7 & 9 tablets use WiFi when available, otherwise cell data. I think Google will give up to five data-only SIMs for non-phone devices. & actually I have tried a data-only SIM in an old phone and it works fine though obviously not as a phone.
OldShooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 05:45 PM   #13
Full time employment: Posting here.
MissMolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 999
I use it with my Sprint plan. It's included for free (I have no idea why - it's new this year). We are on an old grandfathered in Sprint plan so maybe that's why. I use it when travelling. Run my laptop and Kindle Fire. For me, there is no lag. It's just like being on the WiFi at home.
__________________
And whatever your labors and aspirations in the noisy confusion of life, keep peace in your soul. With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be cheerful. Strive to be happy.- Desiderata by Max Ehrmann
MissMolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 05:51 PM   #14
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 68
If Sprint is good in your area, Tello has plans from $14 for 2GB to $39 for 12GB, with unlimited calls and text, no contract. 4G LTE tethering.
https://tello.com/buy/custom_plans
RetiredAndLovingIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 06:06 PM   #15
Confused about dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by NW-Bound View Post
A problem I found with surfing the Web on a laptop or tablet through the phone is that many Web sites load up the screen with advertisement and videos. These junks clog down the link, and cost me mucho in bandwidth and rack up many GBs of data for nothing.

You also must be sure Windoz will not download updates while tethering through the phone. Severe pain and suffering would ensue otherwise.

Both these problems can be greatly reduced, if not completely eliminated!


#1 Use the Firefox browser and set Content Blocking to Strict. This alone will block most of the junk!


If you don't want to use Firefox, add the uBlock Origin extension to your browser of choice. It is lightweight and works very well.


Personally, I use uBlock Origin in conjunction with Firefox Strict Content Blocking and rarely see an ad or unwanted video. Just remember to whitelist any site you actually wish to support by allowing their ads!


#2 Windows 10 allows designating select network connections as "metered". Doing this will prevent Windows updates from downloading when using that connection (and I have found it blocks some other kinds of software updates as well).
__________________
Retired in 2002 at age 47
Drewskers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 06:14 PM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Scrapr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bend
Posts: 1,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by njhowie View Post
All the time. Have MetroPCS (now called "Metro from T-Mobile") - it's included for free with the plan.
Me too. Works pretty well. One month I was on it quite a bit and my data was bumping close to my limit (5GB) I try to scoop up the free WIFI but sometimes have to hotspot my chromebook.
Scrapr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 06:25 PM   #17
Moderator
rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 10,128
I do this with t-mobile when I'm travelling or our internet goes out. Or if the kids are both gaming/streaming/watching youtube all at the same time and our broadband pipe gets too slow.
__________________
Retired June 2014. No longer an enginerd - now I'm just a nerd.
micro pensions 7%, rental income 18%
rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 07:06 PM   #18
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewskers View Post
Both these problems can be greatly reduced, if not completely eliminated!

#1 Use the Firefox browser and set Content Blocking to Strict. This alone will block most of the junk!

If you don't want to use Firefox, add the uBlock Origin extension to your browser of choice. It is lightweight and works very well.

Personally, I use uBlock Origin in conjunction with Firefox Strict Content Blocking and rarely see an ad or unwanted video. Just remember to whitelist any site you actually wish to support by allowing their ads!

#2 Windows 10 allows designating select network connections as "metered". Doing this will prevent Windows updates from downloading when using that connection (and I have found it blocks some other kinds of software updates as well).
I knew about setting the connection to "metered", but have not run Firefox for a long time. Thx.
__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 08:43 PM   #19
Full time employment: Posting here.
The Cosmic Avenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 635
I've done this a lot with T-Mobile while traveling, particularly on the Amtrak Northeast Corridor line. You would think all providers would love to have you use your phone as a hot spot, as those times I had to use it as such while traveling I often wound up purchasing additional data. As others have said, running an ad blocker keeps you from wasting data, as does letting Windows 10 know that it is a metered connection. We also purchased a Verizon hot spot a while back when we discovered that we didn't have T-Mobile coverage at a vacation cabin, and that worked really well, although it cost more than just add-on data on T-Mobile. (Which is fine, as my partner billed the data plan to their work anyway.)
__________________
Looking to FIRE in the mid-2020s, which would be our mid-50s.
The Cosmic Avenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 10:22 PM   #20
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Wheaton IL
Posts: 323
used to do it with our verizon phones and tablet. we now have a verizon jetpack device in a $65 p/m unlimited data plan (no longer available).
__________________

rk911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cell phone plan, hotspot


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anbody know how to use a cell phone for home phone? Texas Proud Other topics 19 05-05-2017 07:31 PM
Best place to get a cell phone / cell phone plan? bank5 Other topics 4 09-18-2009 05:01 AM
Re-activate old cell phone, or keep new phone? thefed Other topics 10 05-09-2009 09:42 PM
Hot Hot Hot Martha Other topics 71 07-31-2006 10:01 AM
Replacing The Landbased Phone With a Cell Phone Danny Other topics 12 11-04-2005 06:12 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.