Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Google Wifi
Old 07-29-2019, 09:38 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
DFW_M5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 5,500
Google Wifi

I am planning to install a couple of Nest Outdoor cams at my home. Before doing so, I was thinking it would be a good idea to supplement my wireless router with a mesh solution to ensure better wifi coverage. I was wondering if anyone else has used Google Wifi and how effective was it? I will probably go with a 3 pack.
__________________

__________________
Doing things today that others won't, to do things tomorrow that others can't. Of course I'm referring to workouts, not robbing banks.
DFW_M5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-29-2019, 09:58 AM   #2
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fargo
Posts: 336
We have the 3 unit Google Wifi. I set up my parents with a 1 unit. My wife's with a 2 unit and oldest kid with 1 unit.

With 3 units, one on each floor and spread out for good coverage, they are a great system. Easy set up. Easy to manage via the smartphone app. We use Playstation Vue, Netflix and Amazon Fire TV boxes. Plenty of bandwidth and speed for streaming and all the other smart devices.

Highly recommended and there are some good sales. Costco has had a 4 unit set for a good sale price at times. Even if you don't need the 4th unit, it could be sold or used for parents/kids, etc.
__________________

bloom2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 06:54 AM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
DFW_M5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 5,500
Thanks for the recommendation.
__________________
Doing things today that others won't, to do things tomorrow that others can't. Of course I'm referring to workouts, not robbing banks.
DFW_M5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 08:40 AM   #4
Full time employment: Posting here.
The Cosmic Avenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 627
I could use a mesh system to reach our basement, although I don't need it, but I really like my current (ASUS) router's QoS, parental control, and guest network features. From some quick research just not, it looks like it's a pain to use the Google Wifi APs in bridge mode. Anyone either set up those features I mentioned with Google Wifi, or successfully kept their current router and added Google APs?
__________________
Looking to FIRE in the mid-2020s, which would be our mid-50s.
The Cosmic Avenger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 08:43 AM   #5
Full time employment: Posting here.
The Cosmic Avenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 627
DFW_M5, in case it wasn't clear from my comment, you probably won't want to supplement your router with Google Wifi, you're supposed to replace it. I've tried a setup like that in the past, where I've turned off DHCP to allow one router to do QoS and let the second one do the address allocation, but it can be a bit of a juggling act.
__________________
Looking to FIRE in the mid-2020s, which would be our mid-50s.
The Cosmic Avenger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 08:51 AM   #6
Administrator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee ba gum
Posts: 24,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFW_M5 View Post
I am planning to install a couple of Nest Outdoor cams at my home. Before doing so, I was thinking it would be a good idea to supplement my wireless router with a mesh solution to ensure better wifi coverage. I was wondering if anyone else has used Google Wifi and how effective was it? I will probably go with a 3 pack.
We added Google WiFi to our router for exactly the same reasons and it works GREAT.

Very easy to do, great app that leads you through the process. Plug one Google device directly into the existing router then the others (we used 2 others) in strategic places.

We did end up with 2 wifi networks, as our original one is still in place and operating, so once the Google wifi was running I had to move our devices onto the new Google network. The Nest devices were easy to move over, again just followed the Nest instructions.
__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Enough private pension and SS income to cover all needs
Alan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 09:49 AM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
T-Minus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Snowbird
Posts: 214
When I retired, we downsized houses and I took the opportunity of simplifying our home network. I went with the Google WiFi 4-pack that you can find at Costco, which I got on sale for $269 or thereabouts. Long story short: it works great, is easy for both my wife and I to operate, it automatically updates and applies security patches, and we can stream 4k anywhere around our property (in the garage, by the pool, in any room, etc.). Sure, there may be other, faster options out there, but my metric was a 4k stream go/no-go, and Google WiFi is good enough for us.

I do have 2 wireless networks running on the Google WiFi: the primary one for our compute devices and the other (the guest network) is used for our IoT devices (cameras, thermostats, etc.) and guests.
T-Minus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 12:53 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
DFW_M5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 5,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cosmic Avenger View Post
I could use a mesh system to reach our basement, although I don't need it, but I really like my current (ASUS) router's QoS, parental control, and guest network features. From some quick research just not, it looks like it's a pain to use the Google Wifi APs in bridge mode. Anyone either set up those features I mentioned with Google Wifi, or successfully kept their current router and added Google APs?
I am not very familiar with wireless networks, but I was under the impression I could simply plug it into my existing wireless router and it would easily connect to the other mesh remotes.
__________________
Doing things today that others won't, to do things tomorrow that others can't. Of course I'm referring to workouts, not robbing banks.
DFW_M5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 01:13 PM   #9
Full time employment: Posting here.
The Cosmic Avenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFW_M5 View Post
I am not very familiar with wireless networks, but I was under the impression I could simply plug it into my existing wireless router and it would easily connect to the other mesh remotes.

I believe they want it to replace your router, basically, but it sounds like Alan made it work with his existing router. I'll have to do more research, because I actively manage my network and have a LOT of devices (we had a thread on that, didn't we?)....
__________________
Looking to FIRE in the mid-2020s, which would be our mid-50s.
The Cosmic Avenger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 08:21 AM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
DFW_M5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 5,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cosmic Avenger View Post
I believe they want it to replace your router, basically, but it sounds like Alan made it work with his existing router. I'll have to do more research, because I actively manage my network and have a LOT of devices (we had a thread on that, didn't we?)....
I guess my existing device provided by my ISP is actually a wireless modem/router. It sounds like google wifi essentially replaces the router functionality, but the google wifi point needs to plug into that device. The ISP device is needed for my TV and digital phones. I am unclear whether all my existing network setting would be preserved when transitioning to the google wifi or whether it will be necessary to re-enter all new encryption codes on the various devices using wifi. I presently use wpa2 encryption and assume that should not be a problem for google wifi.
__________________
Doing things today that others won't, to do things tomorrow that others can't. Of course I'm referring to workouts, not robbing banks.
DFW_M5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 09:02 AM   #11
Full time employment: Posting here.
The Cosmic Avenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFW_M5 View Post
I guess my existing device provided by my ISP is actually a wireless modem/router. It sounds like google wifi essentially replaces the router functionality, but the google wifi point needs to plug into that device. The ISP device is needed for my TV and digital phones. I am unclear whether all my existing network setting would be preserved when transitioning to the google wifi or whether it will be necessary to re-enter all new encryption codes on the various devices using wifi. I presently use wpa2 encryption and assume that should not be a problem for google wifi.

The Google Wifi devices will set up a new wifi network, and you'll have to set up a new encryption key.



By the way, most ISPs say their router is required for TV service, and it usually is not. Verizon told me that with FIOS, and I put in my own router with no trouble. My phone service I set up myself with Vonage, and I use a Vonage ATA behind my router, which is basically just like a router just for their phone service. I also don't have any cable boxes, I just use CableCards in my TiVos. The ISPs hate to admit it, but legally they're required to let you use your own router, TV, DVR, or tuner box instead of theirs.
__________________
Looking to FIRE in the mid-2020s, which would be our mid-50s.
The Cosmic Avenger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 11:28 AM   #12
Administrator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee ba gum
Posts: 24,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFW_M5 View Post
I guess my existing device provided by my ISP is actually a wireless modem/router. It sounds like google wifi essentially replaces the router functionality, but the google wifi point needs to plug into that device. The ISP device is needed for my TV and digital phones. I am unclear whether all my existing network setting would be preserved when transitioning to the google wifi or whether it will be necessary to re-enter all new encryption codes on the various devices using wifi. I presently use wpa2 encryption and assume that should not be a problem for google wifi.
That sounds exactly the same as my system. 1 ISP router from the provider plus 2 dvd/cable boxes. When that router goes down so do the TVs. Our router has multiple Ethernet jacks into which plug other devices such as the Hue Bridge for our Hue lights. The Google WiFi hubs all come with 2 Ethernet jacks and I plugged one of the hubs into the ISP routers. The other 2 hubs are situated around the house and connect via WiFi. I now have 2 WiFis available to connect to, the original ISP WiFi and new Google WiFi. You get to name the new Google WiFi to what you want and you create your own encryption password for that network. The Google app takes you through the whole process including finding the best spots to locate your hubs.

I then went around moving the devices I required such as the Nest cameras to the new network. They would have continued working on the old network but they used to drop out regularly and now they don’t.
__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Enough private pension and SS income to cover all needs
Alan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 01:36 PM   #13
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
DFW_M5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 5,500
Thanks for the explanation Alan, that is exactly what I needed to know.
__________________
Doing things today that others won't, to do things tomorrow that others can't. Of course I'm referring to workouts, not robbing banks.
DFW_M5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 01:59 PM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Cobra9777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,897
Same here. Two networks. The original (running on the ISP's router) is unchanged. The new mesh network has a different SSID, password, etc. In reality, you'll see 3 WiFi networks at our house because I set up a guest network on the mesh system as well.

I looked at the Google mesh system but the price seemed very high compared to others that get excellent reviews as well. I went with a Tenda mesh system for $129. I actually got two systems, so 6 nodes total... for the same price as a Google 3-node system. I'm very happy with the performance, especially as we install more and more IoT devices like cameras that are too far from the original router.
__________________

__________________
Retired at 52 in July 2013. On to better things...
AA: 55% stock, 15% real estate, 27% bonds, 3% cash
WR: 2.7% SI: 2 pensions, some rental income, SS later
Cobra9777 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android WiFi Experts? Wifi Auto Switches to Xfinity marko Other topics 5 02-11-2015 08:49 AM
Google Drive app & Google Docs steelyman Other topics 19 03-14-2014 04:07 PM
Google Chrome - Google's new web browser Marquette Other topics 22 09-04-2008 02:24 PM
Google launches Google Finance Olav23 FIRE and Money 11 02-08-2008 01:42 PM
Check out the "google" at the top of the google page cute fuzzy bunny Other topics 0 03-17-2006 08:40 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:33 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.