Input requested from those who stream British entertainment.

Germonico

Recycles dryer sheets
I've been watch Acorn TV via Hoopla and have discovered many shows that I want to continue streaming beyond the limitations associated with Hoopla (5 selections per month via local library). In researching, I discovered Britbox as an alternative to Acorn and is about the same monthly fee. I realize it is a personal choice, but would like to know if members here prefer Acorn TV over Britbox? I recently discovered 800 Words on Acorn and find it to be addictive and therefore am leaning towards Acorn. I enjoy detective shows and both venues seem to offer a fair number of detective series. Just looking for additional input on which way to go.

Last edited:
I have no experience with Britbox but we liked Acorn enough to opt for an annual subscription to save a few dollars - $50 plus tax. We also have Amazon Prime Video but find ourselves watching programs on Acorn 2X as often as Prime programs. Good stuff.

From other posts on this forum I feel Acorn broadcasting may be the better choice from an entertainment perspective, but my experience/knowledge of Britbox is absolutely minimal.

I've decided as the 2020 political commercials start appearing (and I've already seen a few) Acorn TV will be my main solace to avoid the onslaught of American commercials.

IIRC the recommendation is to start either, watch your fill of their offerings, then cancel & switch to the other.

IIRC the recommendation is to start either, watch your fill of their offerings, then cancel & switch to the other.

Exactly this. We had Acorn on and off for a while (these days mostly off), but for the last couple of years we've gotten Britbox for just a month or two to catch up on stuff like Vera, Shetland and the Bletchley Circle that Acorn doesn't carry.