Join Early Retirement Today

Looking to ditch rented modem and purchase my own. Need advice
Old 12-16-2018, 09:04 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

As my cable provider, I have Comcast Xfinity and starting in January, they are raising the price for modem rental to $13/month. I decided it may be wise to purchase. I AM NOT TECH SAVVY, but is all I have to do is purchase a compatible modem and then have Comcast activate it, correct?

Will Comcast give me any issues? i would like to know anyone's experience with this and if purchasing one makes sense. I use the internet for web browsing, watching videos. I am not into game playing, sharing photos etc, so I would also like to get any info on what type of modem would be best.

I just have a desk top and no other devices.

Thanks

petestan is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-16-2018, 09:09 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus