MacOS Catalina

I saw people selling the license key on Ebay. Assuming this is legal, where does one get the actual software?

From MS. They have a site that lets you download an .iso image, so it is totally safe. All you get from the eBay people is the license key and an email I’d that lets you register the license.

From MS. They have a site that lets you download an .iso image, so it is totally safe. All you get from the eBay people is the license key and an email I’d that lets you register the license.

If you buy these keys (one I saw was from Ukraine) you are effectively stealing the license.

I sold software for a living. Somehow corporations always seemed to “rationalize” their theft. We called it compliance.

I heard all the excuses from we already pay you so much to we didn’t know it was deployed on all our users workstations.

Software licenses are NEVER transferable. The license is for the original user.

If how they are getting these keys is thru the ms developer program by all means jump thru the hoops to be entitled to an ms developer license. It’s a fair amount of time and effort. They will then send you your own key, for FREE.

Just don’t kid yourself that you are not stealing software if you buy one of these 5 buck licenses. Some people are ok with that, I am not.

The usual reason to upgrade is improved security.

+ 1

My main reason is improved security. Apple stops providing updates, even security updates, after an os is over 3 years old.

I’m in the process of upgrading now, although tend to stick a 6-12 months from the bleeding edge. So it’s Mojave for now.

We also run an internet security package (software firewall and antivirus), free courtesy xfinity. AT&T does the same. It does occasionally pick stuff up, but not as often as in my old PC Windows days.

Anyone else run antivirus on MacOS??

If you buy these keys (one I saw was from Ukraine) you are effectively stealing the license.