Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
New WiFi made a big difference
Old 10-22-2019, 05:04 PM   #1
Moderator
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 13,848
New WiFi made a big difference

We had a Netgear wifi system that was only about two years old, and I thought it was OK. Main router and one satellite. But DW recently got a new computer and when I was getting her automatic backups set up I discovered that she had a poor signal in that room. Nothing I could do about it because the satellite in another room is where our main printer is plugged into.

So I broke down and bought a new one with two satellites. Netgear Orbi tri-band system.

Wow! I'm amazed at how much better this is than the old one. Speed tests are at least 40% better in every room. And the Netgear Orbi app on my phone made setup a snap. Worked perfectly.
__________________

__________________
I thought growing old would take longer.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-22-2019, 05:45 PM   #2
Moderator
Jerry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3,395
I have the Orbi too and the same experience. A lot better than my Linksys router that I thought was higher end. My issue is that I kept losing the signal and getting locked up with a notification saying “resolving host”. Whatever that is, it never seemed to get resolved and I’d have to reboot my computer. Since the Orbi (mesh router), no problems at all. Very happy with it. Got it from Costco. It’s the one with a base unit and one satellite. Works great in my 1700 sq ft ranch.
__________________

__________________
Every day when I open my eyes now it feels like a Saturday - David Gray
Jerry1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 06:47 PM   #3
Moderator
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 13,848
Yes, I think I needed the one with two satellites because I have around 3,000 sf on two levels. Very happy with it.
__________________
I thought growing old would take longer.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 07:05 PM   #4
Full time employment: Posting here.
mn54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: mpls, mn
Posts: 531
how did you know that the new router would be compatible with your current ISP?
mn54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 07:34 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
HFWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lawn chair in Texas
Posts: 14,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by mn54 View Post
how did you know that the new router would be compatible with your current ISP?

The router should be compatible. Compatibility would be important for the modem.
__________________
Have Funds, Will Retire

...not doing anything of true substance...
HFWR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 10:34 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Coronado
Posts: 1,360
We put an Orbi router with two satellites in my MIL's apartment and it's been great. She has Comcast coming in at the corner of her unit in a high rise building with lots of steel girders in the walls and an elevator shaft between the modem and the farthest corner of her unit. Needless to say, the Comcast modem's built-in wifi was useless unless you were in the same room. I put the Orbis in at Christmas and they were so easy to setup and have been solid for 10 months now.
cathy63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 08:52 AM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Western NC
Posts: 1,779
A $20 extender worked for us.

Mesh solutions are still much more expensive than the above.
ncbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 10:21 AM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
steelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NC Triangle
Posts: 4,428
I'm a happy Netgear customer too, but my router is older (a Nighthawk, dual band). The big improvement over my prior router (D-Link) was the 5GHz band and 802.11ac (or whatever the current name is).

I like their mobile app and they keep on improving it. One thing that might be useful is to take a look at the metric "Link Rate" that, on my version of the app, is found under the "Device Manager" menu. There are separate values for each wi-fi connected device. I think it can be interpreted alongside the Speedtest results.
__________________

steelyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 11:33 AM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ExFlyBoy5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Country Living
Posts: 3,575
Also using the Orbi w/ two satellites. The coverage is fantastic! We still use the original router from the cable company, but it's required for the wireless receivers for the TV.

Orbi also has bitdefender which is I think is necessary if you use any IoT devices.
__________________
Retired in 2014 at the Ripe Age of 40
ExFlyBoy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 12:12 PM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Sunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Spending the Kids Inheritance and living in Chicago
Posts: 7,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by mn54 View Post
how did you know that the new router would be compatible with your current ISP?
I usually (always to date) go with the simple set up.

ISP --> cable modem (mine) -----> router (mine) ----> all my devices.

So the only thing I ever needed to be concerned about with the ISP connection was the cable modem. I can change my router anytime without worrying about the ISP.
__________________
Fortune favors the prepared mind. ... Louis Pasteur
Sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 12:20 PM   #11
Moderator
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 13,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset View Post
I usually (always to date) go with the simple set up.

ISP --> cable modem (mine) -----> router (mine) ----> all my devices.

So the only thing I ever needed to be concerned about with the ISP connection was the cable modem. I can change my router anytime without worrying about the ISP.
That's what I do too. Netgear makes the setup very easy in any case. Once I had the new WiFi network set up and running using the same SSID and password as the old one, I just had to reboot a few devices and everything was right back to normal, only faster and fully available in every room.
__________________
I thought growing old would take longer.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 12:35 PM   #12
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 54
The real secret to the Orbi is that dedicated backhaul channel especially if your using it to link to areas where you want to use a mixture of wired and wireless. I like that they all have a built in wired switch. I put one of the satellites in a free standing building about 30 feet away and it has worked like a charm. It kept me from having to use direct burial cable to that structure.
upupandaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 09:13 AM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1,089
I tried a MeshForce mesh router system and wasn't impressed. The coverage wasn't any better than my old Linksys access point, and the speeds were lower in many areas.

I replaced my Linksys access point in our attic with a TP Link AC1900 Wireless router. Then I disabled the WiFi in my NetGear router. The difference was impressive, I get coverage anywhere in the house and even outside on the patio. My daughter even picked up the WiFi signal up the hill about 150 feet away. Speeds are excellent anywhere in the house, and just slightly slower outdoors.
mountainsoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 10:13 AM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
RockyMtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Scottsdale
Posts: 1,391
bought a tp link Deco whole home 2 pack mesh system. Solved all of our dead spot problems in the house and adjacent casita. Very important as we have terrible cell service so mobile calls all route through wifi.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07NF6V8SC...5&ref=aa_scomp
__________________
FIRE'D in July 2009 at 51...Never look back!
RockyMtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 06:57 AM   #15
Full time employment: Posting here.
WestUniversity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 516
We also got the Orbi about 7 or 8 months ago. It works amazingly well. No dead zones in our house and great speeds...
__________________
Whatever failures I have known, whatever errors I have committed, whatever follies I have witnessed in private and public life have been the consequence of action without thought... - Bernard Baruch
WestUniversity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 09:34 AM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Cobra9777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,040
We installed a mesh system about a year ago when we started installing IoT devices in locations that had weak WiFi signal coverage (like outdoor cameras under the eaves). Our house is 2-story, 4500 sqft, plus a detached living quarter, and large outside patio/deck areas. So we bought two sets of the Tenda MW6 system, 6 nodes total. Current price is $110, which is considerably less than most other brands. I heard about the Tenda system on a Clark Howard podcast where he commented that it was half the price of the equivalent Google WiFi system and was getting equally good technical reviews.

We also still have the original WiFi network running with a different SSID (1 traditional router from ISP, plus 2 other routers configured as APs). I still have some devices connected to the old network but most are using the new mesh system. Also, our main desktop PC and all TV streaming boxes are hardwired to the original ISP router using some of the old APs.

I've been very impressed with the coverage from the mesh system. We have 2.2 acres and get good coverage all over the property. Mobile devices seem to switch more seamlessly to find the strongest signal compared to the old network. Early on, I had some weird compatibility issues with certain devices, like an older Echo. But a recent firmware update seems to have resolved that.
__________________

__________________
Retired at 52 in July 2013. On to better things...
AA: 55% stock, 15% real estate, 27% bonds, 3% cash
WR: 2.7% SI: 2 pensions, some rental income, SS later
Cobra9777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android WiFi Experts? Wifi Auto Switches to Xfinity marko Other topics 5 02-11-2015 09:49 AM
Retirement timing...big enough difference? Fermion FIRE and Money 13 09-17-2013 12:00 PM
Cataract surgery and a BIG difference between eyes Chuckanut Health and Early Retirement 18 11-11-2012 10:18 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:49 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.