Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Norton Core Secure Wi-Fi Router
Old 11-18-2017, 06:02 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 104
Norton Core Secure Wi-Fi Router

I'm looking to upgrade my router and received an email for $100 off the Norton Core. https://us.norton.com/core

It includes 1 yr subscription to Norton Security and after that $9.99 per month.

Any thoughts on this product?

Just wanted to add that my other option I was considering was the Apple Airport Extreme.

Thanks
__________________

DektolMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-18-2017, 06:51 AM   #2
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 381
The product description is rather high on marketing-speak, low on details. As best as I can tell, the added value over other premium routers is somehow monitoring devices on your network for “unusual” activity and “quarantining” them, whatever that means. The rest of the features are found in other routers.

I am a Norton Security user, but I think I would balk at paying $120/year for ongoing service. (I buy Norton Security 10-device for $30 each year.) I’m skeptical of the claims for strong signal support with internal antennas - my past experience with such has not been promising. The Ethernet ports on the bottom are a bit problematic and there are only four of them - most routers in this price range have six or eight.

Then there’s the issue of firmware updates and keeping current - Norton’s behavior here is unknown, though other router makers tend to stop updates after a few months except in unusual circumstances. Seems a decent router for $180 ($100 off), but the ongoing costs are an issue.
__________________

__________________
Steve
jonat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 07:04 AM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Beach and Mountain
Posts: 490
Norton is not known as a router company. However, if you are interested in the AV subscription service, this appears to be a good combination. I looked at the specs and I like the processor speed. It is dual band, supporting the latest standards. And certainly the $100 off is good. PC Mag loved it. You can buy a subscription from Norton if you want/need VPN.

You have not stated whether you have a big house/small house, how many devices you have connected wirelessly and wired.

PS I just bought a Netgear Nighthawk X4S R7800 to replace my 6 year old Netgear which replaced my 2006 Netgear router. I still use the oldest one as an 8 port switch. The new one cost $229. It can easily handle 20 plus devices at a time although not all are wireless and not all are streaming. Coverage for house is great. It is so good that I have removed my range extenders.
Z3Dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 07:12 AM   #4
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 104
Thanks for the replies. House is 2400 sq ft, 4 computers, 2 Ipads, 2 iPhones.
All Apple products.
DektolMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 10:19 AM   #5
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 577
Just replaced my working router. A Linksys, by Cisco. Using more "laptops" was causing a problem.

Long story short. Bought a "cheapo" TP link, 450 Mbps, wireless N, TL-WR940N. I think under $30. On Amazon.

Was concerned as far as quality/reliability. But looking at the hundreds of happy "verified" amazon users, decided to give it a shot.

Installed on 9/21/17. So far working great. 2 PCs, 2-3 laptops, TV.
All units not on at the same time.
wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 06:35 AM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Grapetown
Posts: 1,816
I'd like to ditch my Dish, currently we have Xfinity cable computer and land phone line. DW won't give up landline and Xfinity has exclusive rights here in township.

I believe in order to use Amazon Firestick, I must up grade my my cable modem and wifi router, and I want to purchase one instead of the monthly lease.

Any suggestions? We live in a 2 story brick 2500sf house on a 1 acre lot. Seperate shop in the "south 40."
Thanks to all in advance. I do use Norton on all my devices.
Winemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 08:01 AM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 381
Winemaker, I assume your comment about upgrading the router is to get better WiFi coverage. As I wrote above, I'm skeptical that the Norton router would cover as well as those with external antennae. You might also find that a "mesh router" solution (Eero, Linksys Velop, etc.) might work well for you. I'd suggest not buying a router with integrated cable modem - get them separately.
__________________
Steve
jonat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 09:37 AM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Grapetown
Posts: 1,816
Thanks, Jonat. Any suggestions there? It's all Greek to me.

If I follow with the Netgear Night hawk router above, then I need a cable modem... or is that what Eero et al, provides?
Winemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 09:38 AM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Sojourner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winemaker View Post
Any suggestions? We live in a 2 story brick 2500sf house on a 1 acre lot. Seperate shop in the "south 40."
Thanks to all in advance. I do use Norton on all my devices.
Take a look at the Asus RT-AC68U. A very solid, highly rated WiFi router that won't break the bank. This is what I'd get right now if I were in the market to upgrade.

https://www.amazon.com/Dual-band-Wireless-AC1900-Gigabit-Router-RT-AC68U
Sojourner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 07:08 PM   #10
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 381
The Asus Sojourner mentions is a good router. I have the Linksys EA9500 and it is trouble-free with a great signal. I'm soured on Netgear routers, including an earlier Nighthawk, as they kept failing on me.

Eero is one of the "mesh router" systems, where you have two or more routers around your house and they talk to each other. They're more expensive than a standard router, but can be helpful if you have signal issues far away from the router. A "range extender" is another option (and cheaper.)

The cable modem is yet another thing. Something like this for best performance.
__________________
Steve
jonat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 07:48 PM   #11
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Grapetown
Posts: 1,816
I ordered the Asus mentioned above and the separate Arris cable modem that was suggested on Amazon. Thanks for help.
Winemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 09:18 PM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,319
What is the distance from the house to the "south 40"? Conventional wireless devices may not be able to handle that.
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 08:30 AM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Grapetown
Posts: 1,816
About 60', but I have an extender now on the first floor, the wifi router is in basement. If this arrangement works, I'll put the extender on the deck, in hope of reaching the shop. Or put the extender in the shop.

We don't have/use any devices on the second floor, except an occasional cell phone.
__________________

Winemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Norton Security brett Other topics 5 12-16-2014 10:09 AM
Norton cj1717 FIRE and Money 61 02-04-2013 10:31 AM
Norton antivirus.. Gpax7 Other topics 3 04-30-2006 10:57 PM
My Computer is totally secure...won't download 2B Other topics 17 04-25-2006 09:34 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:53 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×