Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Switching Quicken from Windows to Mac?
Old 04-19-2018, 07:12 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
lwp2017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 156
Switching Quicken from Windows to Mac?

Does Quicken for Mac ( Apple) look and interface the same as Quicken for Windows ?

My old $195 Windows based laptop is failing.
DW has a new MacBook Pro we only use for her photos. (She net surfs on an IPad).

I'm considering subscribing to Quicken for Mac and transferring data to the MacBook Pro and using it.

Thanks!
__________________

lwp2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-19-2018, 07:38 AM   #2
Dryer sheet aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 48
The transfer of data is easy - the look and feel is a little different, and since I like the Mac interface, I think it's better. The Mac version does not have as many reporting results but they keep adding to it. All in all, I'm glad I was able to switch and get rid of the PC headaches even without some of the reports.
__________________

sdtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 07:39 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 13,223
Just be aware that the Mac version of Quicken doesn't have the features and capabilities of the Windows version -- only a subset of them.
__________________
I thought growing old would take longer.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 07:41 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
Ronstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: A little ways southwest of Chicago
Posts: 11,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister View Post
Just be aware that the Mac version of Quicken doesn't have the features and capabilities of the Windows version -- only a subset of them.
+1. And my Quicken 2015 has been crashing occasionally on High Sierra OS.
__________________
The wilderness is calling and I must go.
Ronstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 07:50 AM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Ready's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,364
I'm happy with Quicken 2017 for Mac, but I do miss the extensive reporting capabilities of the windows version. Also, there is no Quicken Lifetime Planner in the Mac version.
Ready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 08:07 AM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
GalaxyBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains
Posts: 1,571
I switched a few months ago to the 2018 version for Mac and I'm happy. I agree with what others have said above, although I haven't had any crashing issues. I do miss some of the investment reporting options, but as in index investor with a pretty simple portfolio it's not a huge deal for me.

The interface was pretty different from my old PC version, but I can't say if that's a redesign of Quicken in general or a difference in platforms. Took me a little while to get used to it, but now that I've adjusted I like it much better than the old interface. One annoyance is that they've added a bunch of different categories and it's always trying to use those instead of the set I've been using for years.
GalaxyBoy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 09:14 AM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 103
When Intuit divested Quicken a couple of years ago, Quicken said they planned to increase focus on the Mac version (including doubling the size of the Mac engineering team). Since then, I've seen some nice improvements.

You can compare the features of the Windows and Mac versions here:
https://www.quicken.com/mac/upgrader-compare
Human is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 10:21 AM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,027
I run Quicken for Windows on a Mac with Codeweavers Crossover software. They were very helpful getting me setup.
__________________
Kindest regards.
spncity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 05:31 PM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
steelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NC Triangle
Posts: 4,162
After a long period of wondering what way I wanted to go, I switched from a PC to Mac and decided to continue to run Quicken for Windows on the Mac using Parallels. This was an expensive way to go but it seems to work. The expense came from buying three new pieces of software: Quicken 2018, Parallels, and Windows. I got past the $$ part by reminding myself that I am finally retired!
__________________

__________________

steelyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching Ativ Windows phone to Samsung S7 edge PERSonalTime Other topics 0 05-21-2017 05:51 PM
Anybody using CrossOver software on Mac to run Quicken? spncity Other topics 6 04-03-2014 05:52 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:43 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.