Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Weird browser behavior
Old 03-08-2018, 08:54 PM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 507
Weird browser behavior

This happens around once a night.

I mostly use Chrome. At some point, I'll visit some website (tonight it was espn.com) and get an "IP not found error". I'll try to reload several times and still get the error.

Then, I'll immediately bring up Internet Explorer and will be able to successfully go to the same website. Then, I'll return to Chrome and everything will work again.

I do not disconnect from the internet during this time. I guess I simply don't see why this is happening.

Any thoughts?
__________________

gindie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-08-2018, 09:20 PM   #2
Full time employment: Posting here.
davebarnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Berkeley, Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 725
Did you go to Mass this morning?
__________________

__________________
Dave Barnes
Old (70.8) Fart Nerd
AA 73/24/3, WR=3.6%, 91.6% retired, still working 1/2ish hrs/day
davebarnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 10:54 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Scrapr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bend
Posts: 1,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebarnes View Post
Did you go to Mass this morning?
along that line perhaps Dog has removed her hand of blessing from you

or your wifi is dropping out? Or the memory on your computer is full ish. There are a bunch of temp internet files sometimes
Scrapr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 04:47 AM   #4
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 292
Chrome is such a hog. I added the extension "Click and Clean" and run it once per day. It seems to help in taking out all the "garbage".
davismills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 10:40 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 42,538
Does it ever happen in MSIE? If so, then I am thinking that maybe your ISP is just providing a flaky, intermittent internet connection.

The reason this comes to mind is that Cox Cable is like that sometimes in our neighborhood, no matter what browser we use. Even though we have a connection, at times it is intermittent. Because we still have a connection we can't complain to them and replicate the problem.

Cox has been working on upgrading the infrastructure around here so perhaps that is the root cause.
__________________
"A ship in the harbor is safe, but that's not what ships are built for."
- - - J. A. Shedd, 1928
W2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 11:44 AM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,113
If your computer runs on windows 10 it seems that there is an intermittent wifi disconnect problem that is making the rounds after the latest win update https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...2-d1ded4407357
ejman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 07:17 PM   #7
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 507
OP here.

1) Running Windows 7

2) Doesn't happen with MSIE. I startup MSIE to get past my issue, then go back to Chrome.

3) I'll try the "Click and Clean"

Thanks
gindie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 06:20 AM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by gindie View Post
OP here.

1) Running Windows 7

2) Doesn't happen with MSIE. I startup MSIE to get past my issue, then go back to Chrome.

3) I'll try the "Click and Clean"

Thanks
If you have other tabs open in Chrome, maybe look through those.
If you're on wifi, that might suggest momentary interference of some kind.

Gonna try out click and clean myself (with Win 10).
__________________

target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clever use of Chrome browser for a music video Sue J Other topics 1 08-31-2010 09:53 AM
Handy Firefox browser add-on loads your routine websites spncity Other topics 13 01-18-2009 01:15 AM
Google Chrome - Google's new web browser Marquette Other topics 22 09-04-2008 02:24 PM
What Broadband and Web Browser do you use?? FinanceDude Other topics 35 01-22-2007 09:33 AM
Board is freezing my browser Rich_by_the_Bay Forum Admin 0 08-22-2006 10:43 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:11 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.