Education level & occupation of ER

Toejam

Recycles dryer sheets
Hello everyone:

I was just curious about the education level and pre-retirement occupation(s) of the ER or soon-to-be ER posting on this site. Also, whether you were self-employed, worked for a company, or were a public servant.

It would be interesting to see how diverse a group we are!

I will start: I have a Bachelor's degree in Business Administration. My occupation: Personnel work for a mid-size company.

Toejam

Associate in Arts. 30+ years in manufacturing. President/CEO of 4 corporations.
Owned a small mfg. company until I shut it down
in 1993 when I semiretired.

John Galt

To get a really thorough response to this you can go to the "Introduce Yourself Here" discussion in this forum. Here's the fast way to get there: http://www.early-retirement.org/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?board=intro_board

One thing that I find interesting is that there is a high rate of attrition of people who post comments. In some cases that was fine because it contributed to the rationality of the discussion. But others made interesting comments and then just disappeared into cyberspace. I can't help but wonder if they went back to work, died, or just found a more interesting way to spend their time.

BS Bus Admin, Finance Major, occupation: work in the Information Systems Dept. for a large multinational chemical/pharma corporation. expect to retire sometime in 2nd qtr this year.
Ray (bennevis)

Hey Toejam,

I'm 28, and I have a BA in Economics. I got started on this whole "retirement" kick when I had a discussion about retirement w/ my dad (age 60) over a couple of beers. I find that these types of discussion forums are excellent research, as they provide many links, viewpoints, and references.