Planning to ER next year, in my 30s.

IDunno

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hello everyone!

I've been reading these forums for about a year now (and posted a couple of times), but thought it was about time for me to introduce myself. My name is Scott, my wife and I are in our mid-30s (no kids yet), and we're planning to ER in about a year. Interestingly, my father ER'd, too (in his early 50s).

As one of the younger ones here, I thought it might be interesting to share how I did it. About a month after I graduated from college, I started my own business (which was a bit strange; everyone else was getting a job). I tried several things related to computers, and finally thought I hit it big when I was making about $60K/year (compared to the $15K or so I was living off of before, between income from the business and a part-time job) -- but that good year was just one year. The business went downhill; I then spent two years employed as a software engineer. Then, about 4 years ago, I developed a couple of programs that did really well -- well enough that I was able to save up just about enough to ER early this year.

I sold the business about 6 months ago, as I was approaching burnout, and saw that I wouldn't be able to grow the company further myself (I made very little money from selling it -- under 1x sales, which is low for a software company, especially one in a 'hot' field with a very high profit margin like mine). I've now got enough saved so that my wife and I should be able to ER at any time.

The one catch is that when I sold the business, I had to sign an employment agreement. Although I can technically get out of it ahead of time (kudos to my lawyer!), I've essentially got a year that I'm morally obligated to them. That's why I say we're a year away from ER'ing. My wife could ER now, but doesn't mind working another year.