Newbie Semi Retired at 32

Arif

Full time employment: Posting here.
This site is a jewel! Glad I found it after surfing on LBYM at fool.com.
Anyway my wife and I have been saving half of our gross pay for about 5 years and investing it in real estate. We currently have 31 units and plan to buy 17 more before we quit our jobs this December. To add even more of a twist we plan to move to Panama (where I was born) although I will be flying back to check on the properties and our house. Has anyone on this site ever done something like this? We estimate that our expenses would be about 30k maintaining a house in the states and Panama which should be covered by the real estate. Really interested to hear your responses. Thanks

I've been back to VISIT twice in the last two years visiting family. To be honest it is not like living in the states. You have to be more patient when getting something as simple as setting up phone service. Personally the pros far outway the cons but I think everyone would come to their own conclusion.
We have researched the schools for our 3 yo and looking at where we will build our house along with other issues that you consider when moving to another country.

How are they feeling about americans these days?

I hear it was a great place to live and vacation to, but there was allegedly a lot of hard feelings about the canal that boiled up when ownership passed back to panama, and I havent heard much since.

I didn't experience any unrest or resentment while I was there. I think they actually miss the americans and the economic impact that they brought with them. I was surprised to see so many Canadians there last December though. Panama also has a visa (Pensianado Visa) for foreigners that have pensions and include discounts on things such as medications, hotels, and depending on when you buy, no taxes on your home for 20 years. That last benefit does come with some catches.