Can I cotribute to my Roth after I file tax Return

blazerjeremy

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hi,

I would like to file my tax return for 2005 now. But then cotribute to my 2005 Roth Ira before april 15th.
Is this a no-no or because it doesn't affect my tax return is it OK? Will I have to amend my return if I do? Obviously if I contributed to a Traditional IRA it would affet the return and would have to be amended but what is the rules about the Roth?

One of the real tax experts should answer the question, but I think the stuff on the tax return with regards to roths has to do with contributions made prior to 12/31/05. Your contributions from 1/1 through 4/15 will be reported on your tax returns for next year.

I'm no tax expert, but here's what a poplular tax website has to say about the subject:

You can set up a Roth IRA at any time. However, you can make contributions for a given year only during the period that begins on the first day of the year and ends on the due date of your return for the year — not including extensions. If you file your tax returns on the calendar year (as nearly all people do), you can make your contribution for any year during the period from January 1 of that year until April 15 of the following year. (If April 15 falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline is the first weekday after April 15 that isn't a holiday.)

http://www.fairmark.com/rothira/general.htm

(Cute Fuzzy Bunny) said:
...I think the stuff on the tax return with regards to roths has to do with contributions made prior to 12/31/05.  Your contributions from 1/1 through 4/15 will be reported on your tax returns for next year.

There's no stuff on the return with regards to roths, so contributions may be made anytime during the year, before or after filing the return, within the legal parameters.

Turbo tax asks. Probably tracking something internally. Thats probably what the OP is concerned about.

(Cute Fuzzy Bunny) said: