Getting Started

veritasophia

Recycles dryer sheets
Well, I graduated in December and I received a job offer from a local actuarial consulting firm. Here are the stats for my wife and I:

• Non-retirement accounts: ~96k
  • Retirement: ~21k
  • Student loans: ~5k

Initially, we will be able to save around 2,500 a month in non-retirement + max out our 401k accounts. According to my calculations, which include raises, we will reach 1M in our non-retirement in 13 years assuming 8% return. At that time, our retirement account should be close to 1M as well (960k according to my calculations).

If we decide to RE in 13 years and exhaust the non-retirement funds 25 years after retirment, I get a monthly withdrawal rate of about 5,250 (assuming 4% growth after inflation). Then we start on the retirement funds which would have grown to 7M (assuming 8%), and live off of the interest and dividends.

Does this seem like a good plan?

Spoken like an actuary. :D

I think you have a reasonable plan, and I would spreadsheet if you haven't already. Having said that, a lot can change in 13 years, so bear in mind that the reasonable span of outcomes is very wide. Any plans for kids? Smartest thing I ever did was sock away the after-tax funds before we had kids.

What kind of actuary are you?

brewer12345 said:
Spoken like an actuary. :D

I think you have a reasonable plan, and I would spreadsheet if you haven't already. Having said that, a lot can change in 13 years, so bear in mind that the reasonable span of outcomes is very wide. Any plans for kids? Smartest thing I ever did was sock away the after-tax funds before we had kids.

What kind of actuary are you?

Yeah, life is full of surprises. Just wanted to check with all of you to see if the plan was reasonable.