Career Change to Pharmacy?

cpolashenski

Confused about dryer sheets
I am 32 and a chemical engineer that is on track to retire at 50. I am thinking about going back to school for Pharmacy (3 years) weekend only program so I can do this while working. The thought was that should I want to work part-time past 50 (especially if it works out I can retire sooner) this would be easier to do as a Pharmacist than a ChemE.

Anyone out there a Pharmacist? Do you like it or does it suck?

Any ChemE's with part-time jobs out there in semi-retirement?

I'm an analytical chemist and set to retire June 29th. I have also pondered working in a pharmacy but as a tech, not a pharmacist. If I work in my retirement it will have to be low stress. I don't think pharmacists have low stress jobs. There is a ton of responsibility with dispensing drugs. I'm a certified drug agent at my current position and the paperwork for controlled drugs is a nightmare. I assume it's the same for a pharmacist....don't want any part of that. They can cart your arse off to jail if your paperwork ain't correct.

From what I've read and heard, there's a definite need for pharmacists, so you shouldn't have problems finding parttime work. Personally, I'd think the biggest hazard in a retail environment would be robbery.

I am 32 and a chemical engineer that is on track to retire at 50. I am thinking about going back to school for Pharmacy (3 years) weekend only program so I can do this while working. The thought was that should I want to work part-time past 50 (especially if it works out I can retire sooner) this would be easier to do as a Pharmacist than a ChemE.