Being a part-time lawyer feasible?

tpcooper

Dryer sheet wannabe
I've read stories about people starting law practices part-time before going full time, but the stories never give details on of what the practice consisted.

Has anyone ever seen this work personally?

I am a newly licensed lawyer who took a non legal job after law school, and actually likes it (8 months here now). The job doesn't take up all my time though, which is a lot of the reason I like it. There is something that tells me I spent a lot of money and time to become a lawyer, so I should be one. (Note: I did get hired in my current job because of my legal training, so not thinking I'm wasting anything)

The idea has occured to me to do some legal work part-time. I think there are some basic legal services I could provide responsibly in this manner.

This is really random, which is why I posted it on this forum on the site, but does anyone have any thoughts? I would need to spend some serious time making sure I was really competent to work with people, so it isn't something I want to undertake without serious thought and planning.

I work for an atty. in a city. I've seen this kind of thing go every which way, from failure to great success. Sometimes one lawyer will help another by giving him parts of a case (which would be off-site part time); I've seen two of those go on to work for other firms full-time; others go into partnerships. It might be very rare, but it wouldn't hurt to do lunch with someone who handles the kinds of cases you want. Good lawyers (IMO) don't turn down requests to discuss their practices.

Why not, assuming you are a member of your local bar (or US equivalent). What little legal work I need (wills, incorporation, real estate transactions etc) I have done by a guy whose day job is a CA (US equivalent is CPA, I think). He knows more about tax than most general practise lawyers.