How long have you gone without....

Walt34

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Site Team
No, not that! Sleep. Your longest day.

Mine was a 48-hour day. Got up at 6:00 AM after 3 days off day work shift and had to work midnight shift, had court the next day and was there until 5:00 PM, go home, change, no time to sleep, go to work midnight shift, court again the next day all day, same thing again, work midnight shift, get off work at 6:00 AM. Could barely drive home. Just collapsed on arrival.

My personal record is 60 hours. That was when I was an intern.

This is how I was feeling and performing towards the end: :dead:

41 hours, all spent working, on my feet most of the whole time, when I was a second year neurosurgery resident (from which I have since resigned).
The last 4 hours of which was spent draining blood from a head (supervised). Arrived at 5 one day and left around 10 pm the next. 6 hours of sleep, then back to work.

Hmmm...considering how much I now work and sleep, I have become soft and weak.

Probably 40-42 hours. I've done a few all night drives. On most of them I stop and take an hour or two catnap, or caught a nap before or after the drive, but I'm pretty sure for a couple of them I went straight from one morning til the next night with no sleep.

actually before the AMA set resident work week limits, 36-37 hour days were common, and probably most people worked several every week, with regular 12-14 h days in between. I think it just wasn't common to stay past 9 pm on the day post call.

Every third night for about 6 months as an intern: 7 am day 1 to 7 pm day2 every third night. Couple of 48 hour shifts thrown in here and there.

It would be illegal today.

59 hours, that included three 5 hour combat missions, two, two hour student sorties, and a three hours ferry flight. It was a very long two days!