To Buy or Not to Buy; Comments please...

Enuff2Eat

Full time employment: Posting here.
I know this is vague... info but let me know what u think anyway. thanks

this house sold for $499.000.00 3 years agao i might be able
to get it for $379,000.00.

Condition: almost spanking new
Tax: $9000.00/year
Insurance: $1500/year
Upkeep and maintenance: $3500/year
Rental: $1500/month + headache...

The house is huge so, anyone move out i would need $5000.00
of repair and painting...

to Buy or Not to Buy??

assume, we can finance 6.75% for 30yr, 20% down or pay cash.

enuff

I am no expert, but basically the vast majority of the rent you'll receive will go to pay for taxes, insurance, maintenance and other costs (I am assuming you buy the house outright because otherwise you will start running into negative cash flow and that would be a big no-no for me). So everything pretty much rides on capital appreciation and that depends heavily on location. Since you don't say where the house is located and how long you plan on keeping it, I can't tell you whether I think it's a good buy or not.

this house sold for $499.000.00 3 years agao i might be able to get it for $379,000.00.

to Buy or Not to Buy??

enuff
Let's see -- $18K in (assuming 100% occupancy), $14K out (by your own estimates). That's a theoretical $4,000 annual return on a $379K house.

Ignoring the long-term appreciation potential, that's maybe a 1.1% return on investment. And you financed, you would have VERY negative cash flow as you're probably looking at more than a $2,000 monthly payment even with 20% down. Plus the hassles of being a landlord.

Unless there's something I'm missing, I smell a strong "don't buy."