Why I'm Done Giving Anything Like Financial Advice

TromboneAl

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Three weeks ago I gave a 26 year old sax player Larry Swedroe's book on investing. The next week he told me he'd read it and realized that he should have more money in stocks and shouldn't be too conservative.

I'm almost afraid to go to tonight's gig.

Three weeks ago I gave a 26 year old sax player Larry Swedroe's book on investing. The next week he told me he'd read it and realized that he should have more money in stocks and shouldn't be too conservative.

Easy thing to recover from:

26 year old: "Uh, Al":confused:

Al: "Yeah"??

26 year old: "I read that Swedroe book, and last WEEK I put half my nest egg in equities. Now I'm down 25%!!!!""

Al: Those darn investment guys, they're wrong ALL the time......that's why I'm always 70% in cash"...........:D

If he complains, just say "Hey, I'm a musician, what do I know?"

(that's what my DH would say...he's a musician)

Just send him to this: Bear markets: Don't be a hater - Sep. 17, 2008

Larry Swedroe discusses why bears are bad (risk premium) and without them there wouldn't be the returns (long term) from equities.

As a young investor this is a golden opportunity to get in as long as he/she holds long term.

DD

Hey the guy is only 26, how much could he have lost in a week? A few thousand dollars? That's nothing... He just got hazed (just like I was when I started investing in the stock market in March 2001). Welcome to the world of equity investing buddy! In the long term it will seem like a pretty small price to pay to be enlightened at such young age! Of course he might not see it that way right now... Good luck tonight!

You should say to him 'Lesson two, you should never ever listen to some financial-adviser wannabe!'