What have I done?

fatman22

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hola Todos!
I just opened my first account with T Rowe, I am DCA $100 into PRMSX, and $100 into PRNEX.

I am a single full time student (27), I have 35 years until FIRE, I beg borrow and steal to make $27K, (hence the full time student-part :) and am probably doing this all wrong, but heck, gotta start somewhere.

Fatman,
Welcome.

So you have a natural resources fund (PRMSX) and an emerging markets fund (PRNEX). Both pretty volatile, but as you say, you have to start somewhere.

There are probably other ways to start investing $200 a month, but if you are comfortable with that amount not being available (it can go down), it's a start. I'd encourage you to start reading about investing (anything by Jack Bogle) so as you can begin to make other choices with your money later on.

-- Rita

Hola Fatman and welcome!

You're saving, regularly, that's a great start. Keep reading the forum -- there are a lot a good FAQs available and lots of folks posting good information. Educate yourself over time and you'll be able to tune your investment strategy.

Are you investing in an IRA?

I do think you've picked a great time to start buying.

Coach

Welcome Fatman.

Just had a conversation with one of my team; she is 26 and has been investing for a few years: "I've got an emergency fund, but the rest is all going into high risk stuff (read: a balanced fund) and I'm not touching it for 30 years. I'm not looking at my statements".

There is hope for Generation Y!

:D

I am a single full time student (27), I have 35 years until FIRE, I beg borrow and steal to make $27K, (hence the full time student-part :) and am probably doing this all wrong, but heck, gotta start somewhere.