What Happens When The Sole Owner Of A House With An Upside Down Mortgage Dies?

haha

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...

Ha

I am not a lawyer, but I would assume that before any distributions could be made, the estate would pay off the mortgage along with other debts of the estate, wouldn't they?

Ha

He/She spends eternity in the dark silence of death.

Why do you ask? I thought you were renting....... ;)

He/She spends eternity in the dark silence of death.

Why do you ask? I thought you were renting....... ;)

God, everything I say isn't necessarily my personal situation. :)

I am not a lawyer, but I would assume that before any distributions could be made, the estate would pay off the mortgage along with other debts of the estate, wouldn't they?
I agree. Also not a lawyer, but served as an Alternate and primary Executrix for 2 estates, with legal counsel all throughout to keep me straight and fully legal.
The Executor has a duty to satisfy all outstanding debts prior to doing any distributions from the estate. There could be other factors involved, like mortgage insurance on the sole owner's life to pay off the outstanding principal.
My guess (out on a slender limb here) is the lender will take possession of the house by default unless the estate continues the mortgage payments until the probate process is completed.
What I don't know is if other estate assets, like house contents and tangible property and bank accounts and investments, can be appropriated to satisfy the balance. :confused:

The lender will likely foreclose and depending on state law may or may not be able to file a claim for a deficiency against the estate.

God, everything I say isn't necessarily my personal situation. :)

Just wanted to see if you were reading the responses..........

BTW, good question.

The lender will likely foreclose and depending on state law may or may not be able to file a claim for a deficiency against the estate.