Skype or Hype?

Onward

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I just signed up for Skype, with Skype-to-phone calling and an inbound phone #. Anything in particular I should watch out for or look forward to?

There will be spam, though not huge amounts.

Last edited:
You can limit the spam by going to tools>options>privacy and allowing only calls/messages from people on your contact list.

Do you use "pay as you go" or did you get a subscription?

I find that Skype works well in general. I signed up for the unlimited world subscription a couple of years ago and have been using it several hours a week for long-distance and international calls. The quality of the calls varies, but it is generally good.

I got a subscription. I'm planning to use it when I travel (from Internet cafes). I want to use it at home too as a replacement for my current VOIP service.

I've been using Skype for this last year and find it excellent. All my international calls are to England and the clarity of the calls Skype to phone could not be better. I am on pay as you go, $10 auto refill when the balance drops below $2. The cost to the UK is 2.1c/minute so $10 lasts a long time.

Nice. I did't know there was auto-refill of pay-as-you-go.

I have MagicJack now but I use Skype for video calls to other Skype users. My $10 paygo credit keeps threatening to expire but they warn you and a one minute call renews the minutes for 90 days.

When it was my only service, it was very good.

Nice. I did't know there was auto-refill of pay-as-you-go.

It's a nice feature, and you can see it happen in real time if you are talking on the phone watching the amount remaining slide down then once it dips below $2 it jumps back up and you can expect a $10 charge on your credit card.

Been using it since 2006 to call the US. Never a problem, never had spam either. I bought a US phone number and like it comes with voicemail.

Any problems using a headset, but having incoming calls ring on speakers?