WP: 401(k) plans will have to disclose fees

bob boag

Recycles dryer sheets
Employer-sponsored 401(k) retirement plans will have to disclose fees that savers pay on investments and transactions by 2012, the Labor Department said.

The regulations, which will apply to the plans by Jan. 1, 2012, will require companies to provide investors information on administrative and investment fees charged to their accounts in their quarterly statements, the department said.

401(k) plans will have to disclose fees

This is an outrage. Just more government intrusion into our lives. :LOL:

I have been hoping for this for many years. I don't think the big annuity companies like Principal and John Hancock are going to be very happy!

This is one government intrusion I can get behind 100%.:)

I'm disappointed! I thought surely someone would argue that this will raise costs for 401(k) administrators and more corporations will drop 401(k) plans as an employee benefit as an unintended consequence. :whistle:

I'm disappointed! I thought surely someone would argue that this will raise costs for 401(k) administrators and more corporations will drop 401(k) plans as an employee benefit as an unintended consequence. :whistle:
You might find someone to take the bait, but it won't be me.

Laws and regs that provide consumer protection by enhancing the availability of both information and options are far preferable to prescriptive approaches which set arbitrary standards. In an area where we've got an obvious need for a more efficient market and which has impact beyond the individual (after all, we'll apparently all be asked to support people who fail to build a retirement nest egg) , a dose of the right kind of govt attention seems appropriate.

Now, about health care . . .

You might find someone to take the bait, but it won't be me.................