Jeff and suddenly in ER

Ubuntu

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi, I am Jeff. I just got laid off of my job last week. I have been in the software development, maintenance and life-cycle support business almost continuously since I graduated college from Penn State in 1974.

Anyway, I have been lurking here for a few days, looking at the posts about when to take SS, and learning terms like FireCalc, SWR, and DW. I am single, by the way. My Dad passed away recently and I should be inheriting about $350K from the family trust (that probably won't happen for 6 or 8 more months, though). Right now, I have a $600K portfolio (after the inheritance, I'm saying the portfolio would be $950K), invested moderately aggressively, $55K in cash and a $68K 401K from my former employer. I turned 59 in March, 2011. My only significant debt is a $68K home equity line of credit at prime-1/2 (currently 2.25%) :D.

I'll have to check with some local realtors, but the townhouse I live in should be worth about $250K or so... I'd like to sell it and move to a clothing optional community in Florida! :cool:

Judging from the advice I've seen here, I would take SS at 62 ($1695/mo) and I can also choose to begin receiving a pension from my first employer, which at 60 years old would be $7759/yr and it goes up by $665 for each year I delay, so at 62 it would be worth $9089/yr.

How am I doing so far?

Jeff

Welcome to the forum, Jeff.

As the previous poster says, how you are doing really depends on how much you need for living expenses. Sounds good from my frame of reference, though. You might want to run your numbers through FIRECalc, our free online program (link at the bottom of the page).

I never like to count on money until it hits the bank, and I imagine you will be relieved when that inheritance clears.

Last edited: