Votes: 13 54.2%
  • Yes, I have been a PE.

Votes: 5 20.8%
  • Working on it, I am an EIT.

Votes: 6 25.0%

• Total voters

Rustward

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
This thread http://www.early-retirement.org/forums/f27/poll-how-many-of-us-are-engineers-60354.html has me wondering how many Professional Engineers we have.

I have an engineering degree from an engineering college that is part of a university. Over the years I have had several job titles that included the word "engineer", and I might have done some work that resembled engineering, but I have never been, and will probably never be a Professional Engineer.

We'll count PE's, former PE's, and EIT's. Google if you need to, or ask for links.

1 here :)

And another. One of my pet peeves has always been the liberal use of engineer, you wouldn't see that with Dr.

I recall many moons ago when someone I knew was finishing their BS degree in Math/computer science. But he said he was looking for engineering jobs because they paid more. :facepalm:

Aye. PE FL, over 30 years ago. Never moved it to another state. No need. In Canada, it was as good as gold. I expect to let it lapse next year, unless I gotta go back to Iceworld. Maybe I will renew anyway. I might even get a PE in EE and/or ME just for fun. I've done the work. I knew a kid who did it. Maybe I won't. Sounds like work.

Needed to Google it and the answer is maybe :)
The Wikipedia page on licensing of the engineers lists a similar case to mine when describing "Diploma Engineer"

Where is the "No" choice?
I am not, never been, and not working to be one.

Where is the "No" choice?
I am not, never been, and not working to be one.

A "No" choice did not seem relevant, but I should probably have put one in.