Sell or Hold?

younginvestor2013

Recycles dryer sheets
So I took a shot at buying some stock a couple months ago. I bought 10 shares of Amazon at $254. It is at $305 now.
This represents a small part of my overall portfolio.

At what point do you decide to "sell" or "hold"? Obviously there are a lot of factors at play, such as company and industry outlook, tax consequences, etc.

If I were to sell, I would gross profit roughly $510, but would also have to pay an additional 30% on that (25% federal short term cap gain, and 5% state tax) so I would net about $357.

If I sold and netted $357, would you say I did well?

I'm new to the whole trading thing (just usually invest in mutual funds/ETFs), but I wanted to test the waters with individual securities.

While I personally don't buy individual stocks, I think that best practice is to have in mind an exit price when you buy. That said, has anything about the company changed from when you bought? Do you think the company is fully/fairly valued at $305? Would you buy it now at $305?

The answers to those questions may give you insight as to whether it is time to sell.

I recently read that investing in individual companies is all about their present earnings, and of course future potential. My gut (and family buying habits) tells me that AMZN has a great future. Many of the big tech companies are tarnished, and the market seems to be rewarding AMZN.

If this is your investing money, then the question I'd ask is there another stock you view with more upside? If so trade, if nothing strikes you but you feel amazon is over-priced at this point you could sit in an index fund until you spot that value buy opportunity.

+1 to pb4uski's post

I typically establish sell criteria before I buy.

+1.