Am I starting off right?

Greencheese

Recycles dryer sheets
I've been a long time reader and first time poster here so I thought I would ask those of you who have been doing this longer if I have a good game plan to start my retirement planning journey. :)

I graduated from college 2 years ago and got a job with a large corporation making mid $50s. Other than obtaining the employer 401k match I have focused exclusively on paying off my student loans. As a risk adverse person (sometimes) I assumed taking the guaranteed 6.8% interest rate for the loans was preferable to taking a gamble with the market for someone who was just starting out. In the middle of this year I managed to pay off the last of my $34,000 worth of loans, thus freeing myself of over $700 in loan payments and am ready to really start investing for retirement because the thought of working 9-5 at my current job for the next 45 years does not appeal to me. Don't get me wrong, I do enjoy my job and can see myself being there for many years happily, but well... you know, its work and the sooner I can theoretically walk away the easier it will be for me to go every day.

So far I've decided to take several avenues to stretch my investable money and have set up what I'd like to see as a longterm lifestyle of saving for retirement for myself.

1. I've now maxed out my 401K contributions through my employer, which when combined with the company match gives me 24% in contributions yearly or roughly $13,500.

2. I'm on track to make the maximum Roth IRA contributions for 2013 and plan on making equal monthly payments starting in 2014 to max my contributions each year in equities funds. This fund will focus on growth.