Social Transition into Retirement

meteor

Confused about dryer sheets
I am an artist who just retired at 50. Most of my friends are artists who struggle financially. I have been lucky that I don't have a car, kids, or large expenses and have saved money. I have not shared that I am FI because it would shock them, and I'm not sure how to deal with the possible response.

I never realized until now, that most of our conversations revolve around how to make money, (since this is a common concern in our peer group) and now I have less in common with my friends. It feels very sad in some ways.

I'm wondering how other people deal with these social transitions when your friends are struggling but you are no longer interested in the old conversations?

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum and good for you for making a financial success of your career in the arts! I am wondering whether you will continue to make art for pleasure now that you are FIRE. It sounds like hanging out with your artist colleagues may not be a positive way to spend your time as you cannot share your true financial status without creating jealousy, unless you can mentor young artists in how to emulate your success.

In FIRE you will need new interests and there are many threads here about "what do you do all day?". As a physician, one of the activities I have been considering is taking up painting again as I used to enjoy it so much when I was young. I just haven't found the right avenue yet. However, it might be more difficult to go in the opposite direction!

Interesting question. Were you able to become FI because of your artistic accomplishments (vs an inheritance, day job, poker :))? If so, did your friends not know you were successful? Maybe some of them are doing better financially than their financial grousing implies. If you continue your artwork you will still have that interest in common with them.

Congrats on the ER at 50.

Welcome!