Losing myself at the Lost Colony

Proteus126

Recycles dryer sheets
Greetings! Based on my browsing this is a wonderful forum, full of information and goodwill.

I am 44 and live in the Maryland suburbs of Washington DC. I plan to retire in June of 2021 at age 50, and then move with my wife to Roanoke Island in the NC Outer Banks area. We have no children, just dogs.

I am a DOD civilian research engineer, and began my DOD employment in the FERS system in May of 2001. Therefore I will be performing a "deferred retirement" with 20 years of federal service, allowing me to begin receiving the pension at age 60 with no age reduction (rather than age 62 if under 20 years creditable service).

At retirement in 2021 our key financials are projected to be (today's dollars):
401ks: $1.0M
Roths: $0.2M
Equities: $0.7M
Home equity: $0.5M

The home equity will be used to pay for the retirement home in full.

Our eventual max retirement income (2037+) will be $60k in today's dollars. The no/lo income gap from 2021-2037 will initially be covered by equities and my wife's IRAs, but increasingly will be covered by first her SS, then my retirement, then my SS.

I expect we will spend $75k/year, but I use $90k/yr in my projections, and I use the constant expense model. Firecalc and ******** show 100% success rate with plenty of margin for error.

I'm not sure I'll be ready to go at age 50. The job and coworkers are great. The bureaucracy and IT oversight issues are onerous. I expect that I'll be a prime candidate for OMY syndrome. I don't plan on burning bridges, and will stay in contact in case I need or want to return to work.

Proteus: it might be a good sign that a lot of people are not responding about Roanoke island here or on a different thread. I.E. not everyone is crushing it yet. (Ironic, since it was one of the first places settlers landed.)