refi: am I doing it wrong?

Bigdawg

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
In 2002 I purchased a house in SoCal. I moved to the east coast in 2009 (military). Because of market conditions I was stuck with my 6.25% loan and could not refinance. I rented the house since then. I now have enough equity to refi. My payment will be $800/mo less than what I have been paying for the past 13 yrs. I am attempting the refi thru the original mortgage company. Let's just say the first name of the company starts with a B and the second name starts with an A. Here are a few of the issues that have come up: They will not accept my income statements for my military pension. They wanted to see my actual bank statements showing the deposits. They said for "income verification" only. I complied. They replied by asking me a bunch of questions about my electric bill, sewage bill, internet bill and church donations since they were all recurring on my bank statements and they assumed these were debts. They are curious and want a letter of explanation for my deposits from my job but will not let me use that income because I just started back to work in Sept after an eight month break. Despite the fact that I have 200K plus in TSP(401K), 45K in ira's and 11K in my checking account, they say I need 17K accessible at this time. Something about 6 months reserve. Ridiculous since I have been paying the new amount plus $800/mo for the past 13 years. Thinking about dumping this attempt and looking for a better offer. Sort of fed up right now. Thoughts? Similar experiences?

I refinanced a few years ago and did not run into any such roadblocks.

Your instincts are right. Unless you are near to the finish line and/or have put up a lot of money for refinancing costs I would move on to another lender.

At least tell them that you are tired of their incompetence and they can either approve you based on what they have seen and close on the refi in a week or you'll just move on.