Credit freeze adventures

REWahoo

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give
Like many of you, the recent Equifax security breach was a catalyst for me to freeze my credit at the three primary agencies. My understanding was I would have to unlock my credit to open any new accounts but banks and other financial institutions I was currently doing business with would still have access to my credit information. IOW, they could access my credit information without me having to do an unlock. I found that to be incorrect.

Last week I applied online for a new credit card at USAA, a bank I've been doing business with for more than 40 years and where I have multiple accounts, credit cards, a HELOC, etc.

I was surprised to get a call from them the following day saying I needed to unlock my credit at Experian so they could obtain a credit report. I told them I was out of town and didn't have my pin numbers with me, I'd do it when we returned home on Monday. "Sorry," I was told, "we have to check your credit within three days of receiving the application. If we can't get access to your credit your application will be rejected." And it was.

Hopefully my 'learning experience' will benefit others.

Last edited:
I locked all 3 of my reports and am finding that even when I see an offer that might look good, I don't feel like paying $15 ($5/bureau) to unlock everything and then lock it back up again. I was in some department store- can't remember which- and they had posted the usual offer of instant approval for the store card. I wonder how many people go for it now. If your credit reports are locked, there's nothing "instant" about it.

Thanks for the warning that even a bank with which you had a pre-existing relationship couldn't see your file. As you said, that's not what we were told.