Announced my retirement - now it's real!

trirod

Recycles dryer sheets
This week I announced my early retirement plans at work - so now it's real! For some background, I am a principal at a CPA firm. There are 3 other principals in my office, all older than me (I’m 49 - always wanted to retire at 50). It was interesting to see their reactions. The oldest one who’s also quite a good friend and who is retiring at the end of this year (he’s 62) was not that surprised and quite excited - he wants somebody to do the John Muir Trail with him so that could be a fun trip in our future. The managing principal was surprisingly supportive and a little envious. He has a lot of side hobbies and I could see him picturing himself actually having time to do some of them, instead of working 60 hours a week like he does now. The 4th guy didn't understand at all - he said he would be bored if he retired (I feel sorry for him!).

I am making it a pretty long transition. Working full time through the end of next May, then something like 75% of full time until the end of 2018. I also said I was available to consult in 2019 and beyond - but I am fine if that doesn't happen. Firecalc says I can retire now, but the extra cushion won't hurt, and it also gives some more time to bring along a couple of the younger guys that I have been mentoring to help fill my position instead of trying to hire somebody from the outside.

We close on our retirement home on Monday, but I will leave that for a separate thread since it involves a lot of thoughts on the ideal retirement location (and the compromises it involved). For now as a long time lurker and only occasional poster I just wanted to share my good news!

Congratulations... not just on your early retirement, but on such a well thought out and wise approach. Best wishes for a long and happy coming 50 years.
:dance: