Can I switch my money to Vanguard?

nuisance

Recycles dryer sheets
I'm going over the Fidelity plan my current employer offers, and comparing expense ratios for Vanguard equivalents. Fidelity's total market index is a bit cheaper than Vanguard's (.10% vs .18%), but otherwise Vanguard trounces the Fidelity expense ratios.
Is it possible for me to transfer money from Fidelity into Vanguard, while keeping it in a 401k?

Tim

I'm going over the Fidelity plan my current employer offers, and comparing expense ratios for Vanguard equivalents. Fidelity's total market index is a bit cheaper than Vanguard's (.10% vs .18%), but otherwise Vanguard trounces the Fidelity expense ratios.
Is it possible for me to transfer money from Fidelity into Vanguard, while keeping it in a 401k?

Tim
If your employer offers Vanguard, then it's easy. If your employer doesn't, then I don't know of a way (short of quitting your job and rolling everything into an IRA with Vanguard). But I'm not an expert.

You are right to be looking at costs, but at least Fidelity's tend to be lower than those of many other companies. Things could be worse.

Some folks make the best of situation like yours by optimizing things across all their accounts (IRA, 401K, taxable). For instance, you could go with the low-cost Fidelity Total Market Index in your 401K (since it's low cost) as your "base", and then do the smaller parts of your asset allocation (foreign, small, value, etc) in low-cost Vanguard accounts held in your IRA.

Do they offer the Fidelity Contrafund?

If so, then don't be penny wise and pound foolish.

...but otherwise Vanguard trounces the Fidelity expense ratios.
Regardless if you can transfer or not, I'll just add that fund expenses are only part of consideration of selection of a fund.

I'm no BH (e.g. exclusively VG and a supporter due to expenses, above all else); DW/me have funds at both FIDO and VG. Why? Simply that some of the funds (of each company) meet our goals.