HSA and Mortgage Interest no longer considered on ACA?

Yarnstormer

Recycles dryer sheets
I’ve been using a bronze hdhp HSA plan on marketplace for several years. Great when nothing happens, ok when something does (broke my ankle this year w surgery etc so I actually hit my $7k oop)
I’m in Georgia. Every year the cost goes up by about $250/mo
I just logged into healthcare website to start my application and it appears that expenses like HSA contributions, mortgage ins and property tax are no longer considered? Is this correct? It’s killing me even with anticipated lower income in 2021

Ugh I don’t want to have to do the math to figure out if an HSA plan is still a good idea at my low tax bracket.

Last edited:
What do you mean "are no longer considered?" Are you talking about in MAGI, for a subsidy? Pretty sure mortgage insurance and property tax were never considered. I haven't heard about any change to not consider HSA contributions. I don't know exactly how they ask about MAGI, they may rely on you to know what all counts and what doesn't. You're not going to get a good answer unless you ask a clear question.

I’ve been using a bronze hdhp HSA plan on marketplace for several years. Great when nothing happens, ok when something does (broke my ankle this year w surgery etc so I actually hit my $7k oop)
I’m in Georgia. Every year the cost goes up by about $250/mo
I just logged into healthcare website to start my application and it appears that expenses like HSA contributions, mortgage ins and property tax are no longer considered? Is this correct? It’s killing me even with anticipated lower income in 2021

Ugh I don’t want to have to do the math to figure out if an HSA plan is still a good idea at my low tax bracket.

Nothing has changed in recent years regarding how to calculate your modified adjusted gross income, which is used to calculate any tax credit you may be due. It’s the same as it has been. Is that what you are referring to?