Insurance After Retirement

RetiredAt49

Recycles dryer sheets
I’ve been working at large tech companies for the past 25 years. I am 49 years old and about to retire but I can’t believe how much premiums cost for insurance. I’m used to paying $150-300 a month and on the marketplace the cheapest is around $1,300/month. Does that sound d accurate?

It does yes. Health insurance is expensive and and employees typically pay only a small percentage of the cost.

Have you priced your Cobra coverage? Maybe not cheaper but could be better coverage. But it's a stopgap but gives you time to figure things out.

Also not sure if you are including dental, but many of us find it not to be cost effective when unsubsidized.

Just a thought.

Seems high for 49 year old. What state are you in?

For us, if we had done the marketplace in our late 50s, it would have been about 12-1300 per month for the two of us in Tennessee. We went another route though.

Another option, followed by many here, is to keep reported income low and take advantage of subsidies on ACA marketplace.

E.T.A.--per MonteCFO, yeah, check your COBRA. We didn't check and just went with that initially--it was pricier than ACA for us. (and way more than the non-qualified plan that we have been on for 3 years.)

P.S.--everything is also dependent upon your (and yours') health status/expenses....

Last edited:
Seems high for 49 year old. What state are you in?

For us, if we had done the marketplace in our late 50s, it would have been about 12-1300 per month for the two of us in Tennessee. We went another route though.

Another option, followed by many here, is to keep reported income low and take advantage of subsidies on ACA marketplace.

E.T.A.--per MonteCFO, yeah, check your COBRA. We didn't check and just went with that initially--it was pricier than ACA for us. (and way more than the non-qualified plan that we have been on for 3 years.)