Learn Japanese in 9 Months

HillCountry

Recycles dryer sheets
To begin with, I am studying Japanese for fun. Getting old and about to retire, besides doing my daily workout, I am also looking for ways to work out my brain. Learning a new language can definitely work out my memory and response. So as a new year resolution I started my Japanese learning on January 6.

Now 9 months in, I learnt about 8000 vocabularies and 2000+ unique kanjis. For months now, watching anime on Netflix and YouTube in Japanese daily.

I kind of enjoyed the process, so would like to share a few tips.

Anki

The most important tool for me is Anki, which I use as my dictionary. If possible, I import pre-made decks, but update them to my own card type. Except for Genki deck, all other decks I use the same card type, with the following fields: kanji, reading, related, meaning, sentence, and kana (not displayed). With these, it is easy to search up any kanji, meaning, or kana. And most cards are related to each other by meaning or reading. Especially I am now using Japanese to Japanese dictionaries, a new entry most likely have some relationship to existing entries.

Textbooks

I think textbook is the best way for most people to get started. I started with Genki 1&2. I do 1 lesson in 2 days, and after finishing Genki in less than 2 months, I was able to read easy Japanese news.

Then I studied Quartet 1&2. They are okay textbooks, but I think not as critical as Genki.

Graded Reader